Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Option 1: Use a Citation Generator
Here's what a Citation Generator can do for you:
- Enter information about your source
- Indicate which citation style you need to use
- The Generator produces a citation in that style
- You can copy and paste the citation into your paper
Pro Tip: Double-check your citations at the Excelsior Online Writing Lab.
Here are a few citation generators to check out:
- Create citations and bibliographic references for MLA, APA, and Chicago style
- Create an account to save your citations and use citation libraries for different projects
- Create citations and bibliographic references for MLA, APA and Chicago style
- Look up your source by URL, title, or ISBN, and MyBib converts it to a citation and bibliographic reference.
- Create an account to save your citations and use folders for different projects
Option 2: Database Citation Tools
Many research databases contain built-in citation tools that generate citations for you. Look for a button called "Cite" or "Citation Tools" to get the citation for the source you found in the database. These buttons are usually located on the right or left side of the article page in the database.
Above: Example of how citation tools appear in different databases.