Research Guides: Biology Research Guide: Start Here

Recommended Databases

BioOne
High quality scholarly journals focused on biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Includes subscribed and open-access publications.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
Biology and agricultural research journals, including sub-disciplines of agricultural industry, veterinary science, wildlife management and environmental science.
General Science Full Text
Database covering scientific subjects including astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology, and more.
SciFinder
SciFinder® provides unlimited access to sources of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. Register for an account. Registration required for off-campus access.
PubMED
Millions of sources from the MEDLINE database, covering biomedical and life science journals and books. Some citations include links to full-text content.
JSTOR
Older scholarly academic journal articles, books, and book chapters.
ProQuest Central
Multi-disciplinary database with scholarly journals, news sources, magazines, and more!

PubMED
Millions of sources from the MEDLINE database, covering biomedical and life science journals and books. Some citations include links to full-text content.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals on nursing and allied health, pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
PsycInfo
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycInfo is the most comprehensive database covering psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in psychology, behavioral sciences, and mental health.
PTSDpubs
Comprehensive source for academic literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).

Health & Medicine Research Guide
by Kelly Frost Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 91 views this year

PsycInfo
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycInfo is the most comprehensive database covering psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in psychology, behavioral sciences, and mental health.
Psychology Database
Provides abstracts and indexing of key psychology journals.
PsycArticles
Searchable full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.

Psychology Research Guide
by Ethan Cutler Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 1337 views this year

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
Biology and agricultural research journals, including sub-disciplines of agricultural industry, veterinary science, wildlife management and environmental science.
BioOne
High quality scholarly journals focused on biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Includes subscribed and open-access publications.
Environment Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, academic journals and books on environmental studies, including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, and sustainability.
GreenFILE
Covers human impact on the environment. Includes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles covering global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
AgEcon
Scholarly research in agricultural and applied economics, including agribusiness, food security and supply, energy and natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, and more. Includes conference presentations, working papers, journal articles, government documents, and theses and dissertations.
Applied Science & Technology
Covers applied science specialties, from technology and engineering, acoustics and aeronautics, to nuclear and civil engineering, neural networks, computers and informatics, and more.

AGRICOLA
Free database covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines; searches AGRICOLA, PubAg, and the National Agricultural Library Digital Collections (NALDC). From the National Agricultural Library.
Missouri Botanical Garden Botanicus Collection
Historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Open access library of biodiversity literature and archives.

Environmental Studies Research Guide
by Ethan Cutler Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 54 views this year

Nature
British scientific journal featuring peer-reviewed research from a variety of academic disciplines, mainly science and technology. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1957-2012
Online: 1869-1923, 1990-Present

Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions.
Science Online
Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880 and continues to publish peer reviewed articles of the very best in research across the sciences. The Science family of journals is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the worlds oldest and largest general science organization.
BrowZine: Biological Sciences
Browse important journals in the field. Not all articles are available in full-text - articles can be requested from InterLibrary Loan.

JoVE General Laboratory Techniques
Video demonstrations on how to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment for experiments across many scientific fields.