Research Guides: Critical Ethnic Studies Research Guide: Start Here

Recommended Databases

American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
Primary sources collection covering the American Indian Movement (AIM) and the development of Native American radicalism, from 1968-1979. Includes extensive FBI documentation the AIM, the 1973 Wounded Knee Stand-off, informant reports, and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI.
ProQuest Central
Multi-disciplinary database with scholarly journals, news sources, magazines, and more!
JSTOR
Scholarly, academic journal articles, books, and book chapters.
Project Muse
Scholarly academic journal articles and books in many disciplines.

Even More Resources

Accessible Archives
Primary sources from 18th & 19th century American newspapers, magazines, and books. Includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical records.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Collection of Native American autobiographies, biographies, publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files.
Detailed explanation of this resource.
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Publications on civil rights from the United States Commission on Civil Rights, congressional hearings, civil rights legislation, books, and reports. From HeinOnline.
Covers publications on civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more Americans. Containing links to over 500 scholarly articles, hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights. Illuminates the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still. A varied collection of books on many civil rights topics and a list of prominent civil rights organizations
Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress
Legal Case and Communist Party files of the Civil Rights Congress (CRC), which was established in 1946 to "combat all forms of discrimination against labor, the Negro people and the Jewish people, and racial, political, religious, and national minorities."
The CRC arose out of the merger of three groups with ties to the Communist Party, the International Labor Defense (ILD), the National Negro Congress, and the National Federation for Constitutional Liberties. CRC campaigns helped pioneer many of the tactics that civil rights movement activists employed in the late 1950s and 1960s.
Grassroots Civil Rights and Social Action: Council for Social Action
The Council for Social Action was established by the General Council of the Congregational Christian Churches in 1934. This database covers primary sources on the Council's social action involvement race relations, Indian relations, opposition to the persecution of Jews in Nazi Germany, and the protection of the civil rights of war victims and Japanese-Americans during the Second World War. 1934-1956.
Slavery in America and the World: History Culture & Law
Essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Colonial State Papers (1574 - 1757)
Primary source documents covering the earliest English settlements in North America, encounters with Native Americans, piracy in the Atlantic and Caribbean, the trade in slaves, and English conflicts with the Spanish and French
Primary Source collections included:
Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers (Collection CO 1 from The National Archives) -
Papers presented to the Privy Council and the Board of Trade between 1574-1757, relating to England's governance and activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies

The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739 -
bibliographic records on documents relating to the colonial past, some with abstracts and full transcriptions

Detailed Guide to this resource.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Primary sources documenting women's movements and women activists in the US, with a focus on the 19th and 20th centuries. Topics include women and antislavery, women's suffrage, the Feminist movement, Equal Rights movement, and women's role in Civil Rights .

Guide to Primary Sources
by Kelly Frost Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 1181 views this year

America: History & Life
Scholarly journals, magazines, and books covering history of the United States and Canada from pre-history to present. For coverage of the rest of the world see Historical Abstracts.
Historical Abstracts
Scholarly journals, magazines, and books covering the history of the world from 1400 to the present (excluding the history of the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).

History Research Guide
by Kelly Frost Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 421 views this year

Political Science Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Covers political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory, and comparative politics. Includes journals and conference papers.
Political Science Database
Leading journals in political science, public policy, and international relations. Also includes working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, and policy papers, as well as recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics.
Sociology Database
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory, social psychology, and more.
Social Sciences Full Text
English-language social science journals covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

Native Land Digital
Resources on world wide Indigenous territories, languages, lands, ways of life, histories of colonialism, and settler-Indigenous relations. The site uses a mapping interface to bring users to indigenous peoples of that place.

PsycInfo
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycInfo is the most comprehensive database covering psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in psychology, behavioral sciences, and mental health.
PsycArticles
Searchable full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.

Psychology Research Guide
by Ethan Cutler Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 1337 views this year

Education Source
Covers major journals in the field of education, with some in full text.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center
Journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and unpublished materials on thousands of Education topics.

Health & Medicine Research Guide
by Kelly Frost Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 91 views this year

Environmental Studies Research Guide
by Ethan Cutler Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 54 views this year

Library

Critical Ethnic Studies Research Guide

Department Homepage

Research Help!

Meet with a Librarian!

Recommended Databases

Even More Resources