Skip to main content

Classics 390: Junior Seminar

Use this guide to help you research topics in Classics.

Ancient Greek and Latin Texts Series Books in the Library

Loeb Classical Library

Scriptorum Classicorum Bibliotheca Oxoniensis

Bibliotheca Scriptorum Graecorum Et Romanorum Teubneriana 

Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World

Brill's Companions in Classical Studies
Brill's Companion to Thucydides, DF229.T6 B75 2006

Cambridge Companion To The Ancient World  
Cambridge Companion to Archaic Greece, DF77 .C317 2007

Cambridge Companion To The Classics
The Cambridge Companion to the Age of Augustus, DG279 .C35 2005

Cambridge Companions to Literature Series, Classical Works:

The Cambridge Companion to Virgil / edited by Charles Martindale, PA6825 .C35 1997
The Cambridge Companion to the Greek and Roman novel / edited by Tim Whitmarsh, PA3040 .C36 2008
The Cambridge Companion to Roman satire / edited by Kirk Freudenburg, PA6095 .C36 2005
The Cambridge Companion to Ovid / edited by Philip Hardie, PA6537 .C28 2002
The Cambridge Companion to Homer / edited by Robert Fowler, PA4037 .C258 2004
The Cambridge Companion to Greek and Roman theatre / edited by Marianne McDonald and J. Michael Walton, PA3201 .C26 2007
The Cambridge Companion to Greek tragedy / edited by P.E. Easterling, PA3131 .C29 1997
The Cambridge Companion to Herodotus / edited by Carolyn Dewald and John Marincola, PA4004 .C36 2006

Ancient Greek and Latin Texts Online

Papyri.info Papyrological Navigator
The Papyrological Navigator (PN) supports searching, browsing, and aggregation of ancient papyrological documents and related materials. Papyri.info aggregates material from these sites:

Classical Works Knowledge Base
The CWKB knowledge base assembles data about Classical works - 1,550 authors and 5,200 texts, with variants forms in the main modern languages of Classical studies and common abbreviations. The knowledge base also contains the linking heuristics to the passage level for 6,732 manifestations of Classical works. CWKB does not aim at creating a new canon of Classical literature, but provides a concordance to existing canons and workID registries.
The full-text services linked to are:

  • the Classical Latin Texts of the Packard Humanities Institute (PHI Latin Texts);
  • the Greek and Roman Texts from the Perseus Digital Library;
  • the Library of Latin Texts - Series A (LLT-A) from Brepols Publishers [licensed];
  • the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) [licensed] and the Abridged Online TLG.

Packard Humanities Institute Classical Latin Texts Online
The Packard Humanities Institute‘s collection of digital Latin texts contains the texts of over 350 Latin Authors, including almost all Latin texts before 200 CE, (with a handful of later authors). It allows simple word and concordance searches.
The Packard Humanities Institute (PHI) is a non-profit foundation dedicated to archaeology, historic conservation, and more.

Perseus Digital Library 
Free resource on Classics and the Ancient World - primary texts, site plans, and artifacts
Greek and Roman Documents 

Perseus under PhiloLogic
"The texts we make available on this site are practically all used by permission from the Perseus Project at Tufts University, the foremost Digital Library for the classical world, if not for the Humanities in general. You will here find just about the same texts as at the Tufts site, but the mechanism for browsing and searching them is a different one. It is PhiloLogic, a system that was especially developed for large textual databases by the ARTFL project at the University of Chicago. While the original Perseus site is an excellent tool for linear reading, by putting all kinds of resources on the same page while a user reads a passage, we were interested in leveraging the rich encoding for searching the texts, and for other tasks that are less about reading and more about research: corpus linguistics, above all."

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae - Abridged version of the TLG is open access
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG®) is a research center at the University of California Irvine. The TLG has collected and digitized the entire corpus of Ancient Greek and Byzantine literature. The site provides open access to the TLG bibliographical materials, known as the Canon of Greek Authors and Work, and the abridged version of the TLG, with more than 100 authors and works open to browse or search. The full TLG corpus is available by subscription only.

Ancient History Sourcebook
Part of the Internet History Sourcebooks Project
by Paul Halsall at Fordham
Collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use.