Research Guides: Guide to OER: Open Educational Resources: Open Educational Resources

Why use Open Textbook materials?

"OER is an equity strategy for higher education: providing all students with access to course materials on the first day of class serves to level the academic playing field in course settings." [Colvard, 2018]

How to Search for Open Texts

Open access texts are free to read online, often free to download, and may be available as a low cost print format option.
Many open access texts have a Creative Commons license that allow an instructor to alter the text for their course.

Strategies for finding open texts:

1. Try the ISBN search. for finding text alternatives.

2. Look in the Open Textbook Library (this is a great repository that includes faculty reviews)

2. Check out the resources listed for your subject area below.

3. Ask a Librarian! We may be able to help you find open access texts beyond these collections.

Business & Economics

OpenStax Texts for Business
These open texts can be read online or downloaded. They are also available in inexpensive print form. Many include instructor resources, such as test banks and PowerPoint slides.
MERLOT - Open Textbooks for Business
This large catalog of open texts can be browsed by discipline. Inlcudes faculty reviews of materials.
Financial Management for Small Businesses: Financial Statements & Present Value Models
Authors: Lindon Robison, Steven Hanson, and J. Roy Black. Published by the Michigan State University Library.
Financial Strategy for Public Managers
A peer reviewed open "textbook for financial management in the public sector."
Forecasting: Principles and Practice
"A comprehensive introduction to the latest forecasting methods. Examples use R with many data sets taken from the authors’ own consulting experience."
Management Accounting Concepts and Techniques
Open text from Prof Dennis Caplan, SUNY Albany.
Management Communication
Open access text created by the Marriott School of Business at Brigham Young University.
Principles of Accounting
Introductory accounting text by a professor at Utah State.
Economy, Society, and Public Policy
Beautiful new eBook for anyone who wants to learn how to use economics to understand and articulate reasoned views on some of the most pressing policy problems facing our societies: inequality, financial instability, the future of work, climate change, wealth creation, and innovation
Economy, Society, and Public Policy - Core Team
Text for non-Economics majors that focuses on the real world and data

Humanities

MERLOT - Open Textbooks for Humanities topics
This large catalog of open texts can be browsed by discipline. Inlcudes faculty reviews of materials.
Cornell Press Open
LibreTexts
Manchester University Press Journals - Open Access

English

Invitation to World Literature
This multimedia series offers "a passport to this rich heritage via thirteen works from a range of eras," This Annenberg Learner project was advised by Prof David Damrosch, Harvard University.
Open Access Companion to the Canterbury Tales
A "free, scholar-produced volume of introductory essays for first-time readers of Geoffrey Chaucer’s The Canterbury Tales."
The Open Anthology of Earlier American Literature
Anthology includes many works from Native American works thru Walt Whitman and Mark Twain.
Ohio State University Press - Open Access Initiative
Complete text of numerous titles available in PDF--mostly literary and other humanities topics.

History

The American Yawp
Collaborative online American History text. List of authors includes faculty at many good colleges.
University of Pittsburgh Press Digital Editions
Free online versions of out-of-print monographs published by the University of Pittsburgh Press between 1938 and 2004. This large collection is especially strong for history and area studies (Latin America, Russia, and East Europe).

Philosophy

Form and Content: An Introduction to Formal Logic
by Derek Turner, Professor of Philosophy, Connecticut College
Open Logic Project
"Collection of teaching materials on mathematical logic aimed at a non-mathematical audience, intended for use in advanced logic courses as taught in many philosophy departments."

Fine Arts

MERLOT - Open Textbooks on the Arts
This large catalog of open texts can be browsed by discipline. Inlcudes faculty reviews of materials.
Open Music Theory
"Open Music Theory is an open-source, interactive, online “text”book for college-level music theory courses."

Interdisciplinary

National Academies Press
Academic books freely available to download in the sciences and related disciplines.
University of Pittsburgh Press Digital Editions
Free online versions of out-of-print monographs published by the University of Pittsburgh Press between 1938 and 2004. This large collection is especially strong for history and area studies (Latin America, Russia, and East Europe).
Oriental Institute - University of Chicago
Download books for the study of ancient Near Eastern civilizations, including Anatolian studies, archaeology, Egypt, epigraphic survey, Hittite civilization, Islamic studies, language and text studies, Mesopotamian civilization, Nubian civilization, Iranian civilization, prehistoric Near East, Syro/Palestine.

Languages & Linguistics

Acceso - University of Kansas Collaborative Digital Spanish Project
An open-access, digital learning environment designed to promote the acquisition of Spanish and the development of cultural understanding of the varied groups of people who share Spanish as a common language.
Antología Abierta de Literature Hispana (Open Anthology of Hispanic Literature)
For an Introduction to Hispanic Literature course.
Espanol Abierto
Spanish learning materials from the University of Texas at Austin, includes beginning language materials as well as Spanish literature texts.
Elementary Spanish 1
from PennState
Libro Libre!
A free textbook for introductory Spanish from Spokane Community College. Reports are that other colleges using this text are very happy with it.
Grenzenlos Deutsch
An open-access curriculum for beginning German. Still in draft form.

Mathematics & Statistics

American Institute of Mathematics Open Textbook Initiative - Approved Textbooks
These "open-access textbooks have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board." Covers many mathematical disciplines, including statistics.
APEX Calculus
By a Professor of Mathematics at Virginia Military Institute.
Engaging Mathematics
Curriculum manuals for using real world issues in teaching mathematics.
A First Course in Linear Algebra
Great reviews from profs at multiple universities. Free to read online or download as PDF. Stable - this book (and some updates) have been up for years.
Linear Algebra
Free text from an instructor at Saint Michael's College. Also available in print.
Math & You: The Power & Use of Mathmatics
by Ron Larson (Penn State University)
Open access on the web (supported by ads)
Reasonably priced print available.
Mathematics: Open textbooks for undergraduate mathematics
Lists texts by math topic.
MERLOT listing of Mathemetics and Statistics Texts
Since there are hundreds of math texts in MERLOT, you might want to use the keyword search.
OpenIntro
Open access textbooks that are free to download and available for purchase in inexpensive print form. These include free teaching tools such as labs, videos, and datasets. Texts include: Statistics, Statistics with Randomization and Simulation, Advanced High School Statistics.
OpenStax Math texts
These open texts can be read online or downloaded. They are also available in inexpensive print form. Many include instructor resources, such as test banks and PowerPoint slides.
OpenTextBookStore
Lists open texts by math topic area.
Transition to Higher Mathematics: Structure and Proof (2nd ed.)
Dumas, B.A. & McCarthy, J.E. (2014). Transition to higher mathematics: Structure and proof (2nd ed.) [PDF]. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.7936/K7Z899HJ
Stitz Zeager Open Source Mathematics
Includes precalculus, algebra, & trigonometry.

Psychology

NOBA Project
This "build-your-own" open acess psychology textbook project allows instructors to choose chapters. It also offers a few "ready-made" texts and there are print options. Founded by emeritus faculty from the University of Illinois with authors from many reputable universities, including Harvard and Yale.
AllPsych Texts
Free online texts on site supported by fairly unobtrusive ads, includes: Psychology 101, Statistics Primer, Personality Synopsis, & Research Methods (for education, psychology, and the social sciences).
ePsych
Interactive psychology textbook by by Mississippi State University professor, Gary L. Bradshaw.
Essentials of Abnormal Psychology - Alexis Bridley and Lee W. Daffin Jr.
From professors at Washington State University.
Mind, Body, World: Foundations of Cognitive Science
By Michael R. W. Dawson, psychology professor, University of Alberta. Site offers a free PDF and it's also available as an inexpensive paperback.
Personality Theories - George Boeree
Free online text by a Professor Emeritus of the Psychology Department at Shippensburg University.
Personality Theory- Mark Kelland
Textbook on the OER Commons
Psychology: An Introduction by Russell A. Dewey, PhD
Revised in 2017, this psych text is in a simple web format.

Sciences

An Introduction to Geology
This text was reviewed by geology profs at multiple universities and includes gorgeous photos.
Light and Matter
Physics texts offered in free PDF by a physics professor (PhD Yale). Very inexpensive print versions also available. Supplementary materials for verified faculty.
MERLOT - Open Textbooks for Science and Technology topics
This large catalog of open texts can be browsed by discipline. Inlcudes faculty reviews of materials.
Open Access Texts - Physics
Lists open access texts by physics topics.
Open Geography Education
Includes geology, natural disasters, physical geography, GIS, and geostatistics.
Open Physics
This is a very innovative type of open ed resource that could be used as a text or as supplementary material. See this instructor page for a helpful explanation of the site.
OpenStax Science Texts
These open texts can be read online or downloaded. They are also available in inexpensive print form. Many include instructor resources, such as test banks and PowerPoint slides.
Organic Chemistry Lab Techniques
"Created by Lisa Nichols (chemistry faculty at Butte Community College in Northern California) as a result of an academic sabbatical leave"
Practical Meteorology: An Algebra-based Survey of Atmospheric Science
Authored by Roland Stoll, published by University of British Columbia. Easy to use specific chapters in PDF.
Principles of Biology Lab Manuals - Dalton State University
Creative Commons licensed set of PDF lab manuals.
Spiral Physics - Paul D'Alessandris
"These workbooks, designed for use in an active learning environment, arrange topics such that students receive repeated exposure to concepts over an extended time interval, each time with
an incremental increase in complexity."
Teach Astronomy
"An introduction to the nature of the universe. Use it to research or review our solar system, stars, galaxies, and the history of the universe. Each chapter has a set of corresponding homework questions."
Variational Principles in Classical Mechanics
Prof. Douglas Cline, Physics, University of Rochester. Free PDF or purchase inexpensive print.
Virtual Textbook of Organic Chemistry
By Prof William Reusch at Michigan State University. Includes interactive practice problems.
Green Tea Press (Engineering)
Free O'Reilly books by Allen B. Downey, Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering.
MERLOT - Open Textbooks for Science and Technology topics
This large catalog of open texts can be browsed by discipline. Inlcudes faculty reviews of materials.
Sustainable Energy - without the hot air by David JC MacKay
Free book from a Professor of Engineering at the University of Cambridge
Technical Project Management in Living and Geometric Order
From the University of Wisconsin, this easy to download text was written by Engineering faculty and an industry professional.
Water Resource Systems Planning and Management
2017 Springer open access book
Open Textbooks for Engineering
Detailed list of all kinds of engineering texts
Open Electromagnetics Project - Virginia Tech
"No-cost openly-licensed textbooks for courses in undergraduate engineering electromagnetics"

Anthropology and Sociology

Anthropology Tutorials
A Palomar College professor offers two award-winning "tutorials" which can substitute for a textbook to teach cultural anthropology or biological anthropology.
The Art of Being Human
Free text for an ANTH 101 course in PDF and also available as inexpensive paperback. Site also offers videos for the course and other materials.
Folklife and Fieldwork: An Introduction to Cultural Documentation
Published by the Library of Congress, this public domain work has been recently updated.
Free Sociology Books
Written by a Sociology professor Ron J. Hammond & revised in cooperation with Sociology faculty at other institutions. Available in both html and PDF. Test bank available to instructors. Includes Intro to Sociology, & Sociology of the Family.
Health, Illness, and the Social Body: A Critical Sociology
Trinity University. On Digital Commons. Simple to download.
Research Methods Knowledge Base
"A comprehensive web-based textbook that addresses all of the topics in a typical introductory undergraduate or graduate course in social research methods. "
Sociology of Death and Dying
This website by Trinity University professor Michael Kearl offers readings and other resources to support a sociology course on death.

Political Science & Law

CALI - The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction
A "non-profit consortium of mostly US law schools that conducts applied research and development in the area of computer-mediated legal education. The organization is best known in law schools for CALI Lessons, online interactive tutorials in legal subjects. . ." CALI also has a number of law related textbooks that can be downloaded for free.
Copyright Law: Cases and Materials
Authored by faculty at the New York University School of Law. Available in free PDF or low cost print. Instructors can register for access to related faculty materials.
E-International Relations Publishing
Texts on international relations topics, free to download. Project of a UK nonprofit, funded by advertising on the site.
Economy, Society, and Public Policy - Core Team
Text for non-Economics majors that focuses on the real world and data
Legal Literacy: An Introduction to Legal Studies
Provides a foundational understanding of key concepts such as legal personhood, jurisdiction, and precedent, and by introducing students to legal research and writing skills. Examples of cases, statutes, and other legal materials support these concepts. Available as free PDF or inexpesive paperback.

Computer Science

Computation and Computer Science
Introductory text from Chemeketa Community College.
Elements of Robotics
2018 Springer open access book
Finite Difference Computing with Exponential Decay Models
2016 Springer open access book
Open Data Structures: An Introduction
An introduction to the field of data structures and algorithms. Offered in free PDF or inexpensive paperback form.
Programming for Computations - MATLAB/Octave
2016 Springer Open Access Book
Programming for Computations - Python
2016 Springer open access book

Other Ways to Search for Open Access Books

DeGruyter Open Books
Open access books on many topics. Unfortunately, it isn't easy to search or browse the open book content separately from the open journal articles.
Directory of Open Access Books
Internet Archive
Open and permanent access to historical collections in digital format for researchers and the public.
more...less...
“Books in this collection may be borrowed by logged in patrons for a period of two weeks. You may read the books online in your browser, or download them into Adobe Digital Editions, a free piece of software used for managing loans.”
Knowledge Unlatched
Open access scholarly monographs in the humanities and social sciences funded by a consortium of libraries.
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks)
Large collection of open access scholarly books in multiple languages. Easy to search of browse. Most more useful for research than as course texts.
OER by Discipline: University of Manitoba
Online Books Page at University of Pennsylvania
Open Access eBooks on JSTOR
More than 5000 titles from respected presses are now available at no cost to libraries or users.
Open Book Publishers
British publisher of academic books. There is a free html version of each book, plus inexpensive options for other formats. A few might be useful for undergrad courses, but most are highly specialized books.
Springer Open Access Monographs
Most of these are more useful for research than for classroom reading use, but some may be useful for upper level courses. It's easy to browse by subject area on the site.

Textbook Repositories--Mostly Librarian Tools

OER Repositories at a Glance
Pros and Cons of each repository
~From the 2021 MiALA Conference
OpenStax
Peer-reviewed, introductory-level textbooks. All CC-By
Pressbooks Directory
Open Textbook Library
Great faculty reviews of open textbooks. Licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
LibreTexts
Imported books that can be remixed through this platform.
OER Commons
Contains more than 50,000 examples of learning and teaching materials. The advanced search option allows you to limit to common-core standards, grade level, and primary user (teacher or student).
Oasis
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier.
MERLOT
"A free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community."

OER Listservs

Creative Commons Resources

Creative Commons Certificate Course

Library

Guide to OER: Open Educational Resources

Subject Index

Tips on Using Open Texts

Attribution