Research Guides: HIST 214: Revolutionary America: Primary Sources

Resources to Find Primary Sources

American Periodicals (1740-1940)
American magazines, newspapers, and journals in digitized page image format, published between 1740 and 1940.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals
American periodicals published 1684-1912, covering US history, society, and culture
Specialized collections covering advertising, health, women's issues, science, African American studies, industry, religious issues, culture and the arts
Accessible Archives
Primary sources from 18th & 19th century American newspapers, magazines, and books. Includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical records.

News Media and the Making of America, 1730-1865
Online exhibit by the American Antiquarian Society, with links to historical newspapers.

Also known as "Readers" or "Source Books"

The Revolutionary Era by Carol Sue Humphrey
Beginning with an extensive overview essay of the period, this book focuses on 26 pressing issues of the war and the early republic. Each issue is presented with an introductory essay and multiple primary documents from the newspapers of the day, which illustrate both sides of the debate.
Ordinary Courage by James Kirby Martin
This remarkable memoir is one of the most celebrated documents to emerge from the tumult of America's Revolutionary War. The ordinary and yet exceptional experiences of a young soldier in Washington's army are given a new life in this fourth edition, sensitively edited for a modern readership.

American Revolution: Revolution and Protest
Primary sources, interviews with experts, and links to archives.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Primary sources from the Library of Congress covering all aspects of American life and history.

The American Yawp Reader
Primary sources related to the American Yawp History textbook.
Internet Archive
Open and permanent access to historical collections in digital format for researchers and the public.
more...less...
“Books in this collection may be borrowed by logged in patrons for a period of two weeks. You may read the books online in your browser, or download them into Adobe Digital Editions, a free piece of software used for managing loans.”
Guide to Primary Sources at K
Guide created and curated by your librarians at K!