Research Guides: HIST 214: Revolutionary America: Start Here!

Find a Primary Source!

Historical Newspapers
Full-text content from U.S. & international newspapers from the 19th century to the late 20th century. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, cartoons, classifieds, and obituaries.
See title list of over 400 historical newspapers.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Digitized American newspapers, 1789 - 1963. From the Library of Congress.

Accessible Archives
Primary sources from 18th & 19th century American newspapers, magazines, and books. Includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical records.

American Periodicals (1740-1940)
American magazines, newspapers, and journals in digitized page image format, published between 1740 and 1940.
Accessible Archives
Primary sources from 18th & 19th century American newspapers, magazines, and books. Includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical records.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals
American periodicals published 1684-1912, covering US history, society, and culture
Specialized collections covering advertising, health, women's issues, science, African American studies, industry, religious issues, culture and the arts

Early Encounters in North America
Primary sources documenting the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. Includes published and unpublished accounts, narratives, diaries, journals, and letters on early encounters.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries
Collection of letters, diaries, and personal writings of American women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts. Materials are from the American Antiquarian Society.
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online
Search multiple collections of letters, diaries, private writings and personal narratives, correspondence, autobiographies, and interviews from the 16th century - present.
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online allows cross-searching of several Alexander Street primary source collections:
• North American Women’s Letters and Diaries
• Manuscript Women’s Letters and Diaries (from the American Antiquarian Society)
• British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries
• The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
• North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
• Black Thought and Culture

Library OneSearch
Try adding search words like: memoir, diaries, sourcebook, sources

ProQuest Congressional
Legislative and executive publications, including the Congressional Record, Congressional Hearings, and more.
Detailed Guide to this resource.
HeinOnline
Law journals and periodicals, case law decisions, government documents, Federal Register, US Code, Congressional documents, Foreign Relations of the US, international treaties and world constitutions, and more.

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
The records of the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and the United States Congress make up a rich documentary history of the construction of the nation and the development of the federal government and its role in the national life.
Founders Online
Correspondence and other writings of the seven major shapers of the U.S.
more...less...
George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, and James Madison. Over 185,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Primary sources from the Library of Congress covering all aspects of American life and history.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Primary sources documenting women's movements and women activists in the US, with a focus on the 19th and 20th centuries. Topics include women and antislavery, women's suffrage, the Feminist movement, Equal Rights movement, and women's role in Civil Rights .

Enslaved: Peoples of the Historical Slave Trade
Biographical stories of the lives of individuals who were enslaved, owned slaves, or participated in the historical trade.
Internet Archive
Open and permanent access to historical collections in digital format for researchers and the public.
more...less...
“Books in this collection may be borrowed by logged in patrons for a period of two weeks. You may read the books online in your browser, or download them into Adobe Digital Editions, a free piece of software used for managing loans.”

You may access Western's online resources when you are in Waldo Library. You must login to one of their computers.

Ask at the Service Desk (to the left as you walk in) for the guest username/password.

Printing is difficult for guests, bring a flashdrive and download articles you want to keep.

WMU Libraries FAQs
Find answers or even chat with a librarian before heading to Western!