Research Guides: Chemistry Research Guide: Start Here

Recommended Databases

SciFinder
SciFinder® provides unlimited access to sources of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. Register for an account. Registration required for off-campus access.
PubMED
Open access to the MEDLINE database from the National Library of Medicine. Covers biomedical and life science journals and books. Some citations include links to full-text content.
Applied Science & Technology
Covers applied science specialties, from technology and engineering, acoustics and aeronautics, to nuclear and civil engineering, neural networks, computers and informatics, and more.
General Science Full Text
Database covering scientific subjects including astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology, and more.
ChemRxiv
Open access archives for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas. ChemRxiv allows researchers in the chemical science fields the ability to share early results, ahead of formal peer review and publication.
JoVE General Laboratory Techniques
Video demonstrations on how to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment for experiments across many scientific fields.

PubMED
Open access to the MEDLINE database from the National Library of Medicine. Covers biomedical and life science journals and books. Some citations include links to full-text content.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly journals on nursing and allied health, pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
PsycInfo
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycInfo is the most comprehensive database covering psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in psychology, behavioral sciences, and mental health.
PTSDpubs
Comprehensive source for academic literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).

Health & Medicine Research Guide
by Kelly Frost Last Updated Apr 18, 2025 8 views this year

JoVE General Laboratory Techniques
Video demonstrations on how to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment for experiments across many scientific fields.

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
Biology and agricultural research journals, including sub-disciplines of agricultural industry, veterinary science, wildlife management and environmental science.
Environment Complete
Scholarly, academic journals and books on environmental studies, including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, and sustainability.
GreenFILE
Covers human impact on the environment. Includes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles covering global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
AgEcon - Agricultural & Applied Economics
Scholarly research in agricultural and applied economics. Covers agribusiness, food supply and security, natural resources and energy economics, environmental economics, policy issues, and more. Include journal articles, conference presentations, working papers, government documents, theses and dissertations.
Applied Science & Technology
Covers applied science specialties, from technology and engineering, acoustics and aeronautics, to nuclear and civil engineering, neural networks, computers and informatics, and more.

AGRICOLA
Free database covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines; searches AGRICOLA, PubAg, and the National Agricultural Library Digital Collections (NALDC). From the National Agricultural Library.

Agricola
Agricultural research from the US National Agricultural Library; includes journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, and technical reports. Covers human nutrition and food, agricultural engineering and technology, earth and environmental sciences, and more.
BioOne
High quality scholarly journals focused on biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Includes subscribed and open-access publications.

BrowZine: Biological Sciences
Browse important journals in the field. Not all articles are available in full-text - articles can be requested from InterLibrary Loan.
Science Online
Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880 and continues to publish peer reviewed articles of the very best in research across the sciences. The Science family of journals is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the worlds oldest and largest general science organization.