Research Guides: Political Science Research Guide: Start Here

Recommended Databases

Political Science Database
Leading journals in political science, public policy, and international relations. Also includes working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, and policy papers, as well as recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics.
Political Science Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Covers political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory, and comparative politics. Includes journals and conference papers.
HeinOnline
Law journals and periodicals, case law decisions, government documents, Federal Register, US Code, Congressional documents, Foreign Relations of the US, international treaties and world constitutions, and more.

New York Times (1980-Present)
Full text of New York Times East Coast edition from June 1980-present. Text only - no images.

Washington Post (1996-present)
Major U.S. daily newspaper with an emphasis on national politics and the federal government. Published in Washington, D.C.
more...less...
For complete full-text access please use subscribed library database versions of the newspaper.
The Economist (1992-present)
Weekly British newspaper focusing on current affairs, international business, politics, technology, and culture.
more...less...
Full text coverage: Jan 4, 1992 (Vol. 322, no. 7740) - present
Citation/Abstract coverage: Jan 4, 1986 (Vol. 298, no. 7427) - present
The Atlantic (1994-present)
American magazine featuring articles in the fields of politics, foreign affairs, business and the economy, culture and the arts, technology, and science

PhilPapers
Comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy literature. Includes journals, books, and open access archives.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Authoritative, up-to-date encyclopedia written by expert philosophers.

ProQuest One Business
Major business database containing full-text materials from scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
Includes full text of three major global business news sources: the Wall Street Journal, the Economist and the Financial Times.
EconLit
Covers international scholarly economic literature, including journals, books, chapters, essays, proceedings, working papers, and more. Sources discuss economic theory and application, as well as other economics topics.
Business Source Complete
Covers scholarly journals and business trade periodicals, as well as case studies, market research reports, industry reports, financial data, books, conference proceedings, investment research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
ABI/Inform Collection
US and International business periodicals with in-depth coverage of business & economic conditions, management techniques, business theory & practice, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, and taxation

HeinOnline
Law journals and periodicals, case law decisions, government documents, Federal Register, US Code, Congressional documents, Foreign Relations of the US, international treaties and world constitutions, and more.
Index To Legal Periodicals & Books
Scholarly publications, legal journals, law reviews, statutes, symposia, court decisions, bar association publications and university publications, and more, dating back to 1981.

Law Research Guide
by Stacy Nowicki Last Updated May 1, 2024 887 views this year

America: History & Life
Covers history of the United States and Canada from pre-history to present. Most articles are peer-reviewed. Many articles are available in full text, but not all.
Historical Abstracts
Scholarly journals, magazines, and books covering the history of the world from 1400 to the present (excluding the history of the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).

History Research Guide
by Kelly Frost Last Updated Sep 11, 2024 335 views this year

Sociology Database
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory, social psychology, and more.
Social Sciences Full Text
English-language social science journals covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

Environment Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, academic journals and books on environmental studies, including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, and sustainability.
GreenFILE
Covers human impact on the environment. Includes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles covering global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Environmental Issues Online
Multimedia materials - texts, video, audio, archival primary sources - covering environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation, and more.
Explores the relationship between people and the environment through social, cultural, economic, political, historical and ecological perspectives.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
Biology and agricultural research journals, including sub-disciplines of agricultural industry, veterinary science, wildlife management and environmental science.
General Science Full Text
Covers scientific subjects including astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology, and more. Full-text articles include graphs, charts, diagrams, photos and illustrations.
Applied Science & Technology
Covers applied science specialties, from technology and engineering, acoustics and aeronautics, to nuclear and civil engineering, neural networks, computers and informatics, and more.