Research Guides: Guide to Maps: Historic Maps

Historic Maps

Sanborn Maps at the Library of Congress
Searchable database of the Fire Insurance Maps published by the Sanborn Map Company in the collections of the Library of Congress.

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867–1970
These fire insurance maps chart the development of over 12,000 US towns and cities and include large-scale plans of cities and towns. Maps were produced 1867 - 1970, and drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch, list street blocks and building numbers, and detail building outline, size and shape.
The Sanborn Map Company, founded in 1867, was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. These maps were created to assist fire insurance companies to assess risk associated with insuring a particular property.

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Collection of thousands of maps covering all areas of the world, with 70,000 map images available online.
David Rumsey Map Collections
Includes maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania, as well as rare 16th - 21st century maps of North and South America. Free, open access.
Harvard Scanned Maps
Scanned maps and atlases from around the world in hi-res, many of which are georeferenced. From Harvard's Map Collection.
Old Maps Online
Gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world. With contributions from institutions and libraries worldwide.
Travels in Tokugawa Japan
Online exhibit of maps and topographical materials of Tokugawa era Japan. From the University of Manchester.
American Revolutionary War Maps
From the Boston Public Library