Research Guides: HIST 270: History of Latin America in Colonial Times: Additional Resources

Recommendations

Word Origins

Oxford English Dictionary
Definitive record of the English language; provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Library OneSearch
Find books, eBook, and article available through K's library.

Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals and popular periodicals.
ProQuest Central
Multi-disciplinary database with scholarly journals, news sources, magazines, and more!
JSTOR
Scholarly, academic journal articles, books, and book chapters.

Subject Specific

More targeted sources, more sophisticated search tools.

Not always full-text. You may have to order articles via Interlibrary Loan.

ATLA Religion Database
Covers religious and theological studies, including biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues, theology, philosophy, and ethics. Includes ATLAS collection of 400+ full text religion and theology journals. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Jewish Studies Source
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary view of the study of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Includes academic journals, books, newspapers, and more.
Leading academic journals within the discipline, monographs, related articles from major periodicals and newspapers, and over 1600 biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jews.
Historical Abstracts
Find academic articles covering the history of the world from 1400 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Scholarly sources on all aspects of modern literature, languages and linguistics, theatre and drama.
Social Sciences Full Text
English-language social science journals covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

Medieval Spanish Class Guide

Some interesting links that might be helpful to some of you.

SPAN 435: Spanish Cityscapes
by Kelly Frost Last Updated Sep 17, 2024 126 views this year

Getting Articles: Step-by-Step Guide

1. Gather citations.

Find citations in books or articles with bibliographies.

All Databases
See all the databases available through the library!

Find an Index or Database in your Subject Area -
Some of these tools are full-text and will lead you to articles, other times you'll just find a citation.

Google Scholar
Find citations to scholarly books and articles. Here's how to link Google Scholar to K's Library.
Link Google Scholar to K's Library
You can access K Library's licensed articles that you find in Google Scholar! In Google Scholar, add Kalamazoo College Library in the "Library Links" settings. Once you set and save your "Library Links" setting, you will be able to link to K's library resources retrieved when using Google Scholar.

2. Search using the "Article Title."

Library OneSearch
Start here--we often have the full-text!
Google
Try with quotes "around your article title"
Always double-check you have the correct source!

3. Search using the journal or magazine title.

Online Journals @ K
Find journals by title. Use the volume, issue and date information to locate your article.

4. No luck? Interlibrary Loan to the rescue!

Interlibrary Loan
Log in with your K College username and password to place requests and access articles received.

Library

HIST 270: History of Latin America in Colonial Times

Research Help!

Meet with a Librarian!