British art from the 16th century to the present and international modern and contemporary art. Includes image galleries and overviews of artists and movements.

Timelines, movements, artist overviews, and ideas covering modern art.

Source for fashion and dress history, featuring essays on objects and artworks from museums and libraries that span the globe. From the Fashion Institute of Technology.

Primary sources covering American art and artists, including diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, films, audio recordings, video recordings, and oral histories documenting the history of the visual arts in America. Part of the Smithsonian Institution.

Digital collections of exhibition catalogs and other documents

The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.

The USModernist Library is a digital collection of major US 20th century architecture magazines with approximately 2.5 million downloadable pages - all free to access.

Marcel Breuer was an influential architect and furniture designer of the 20th century. Digital archive of 30,000 drawings, photographs, letters and other materials related to his career.

Metropolitan Museum of Art publications available to read, download, and/or search for free.

Library devoted to research, collection, preservation, and exhibition of materials focused on African American, African Diaspora, and African experiences. Located at the New York Public Library.

Virtually walk through museums. View artworks, collections, and stories curated by Google's Cultural Institute.

Documentary film and video covering contemporary art around the world. Includes artist interviews.

Forum for serious, radical, and playful perspectives on art and culture in the world today.

List of major archives across the U.S. that focus primarily on the collection and preservation of design records, including architecture, engineering, landscape architecture, construction records, fashion institutes and companies, and furniture companies.