Research Guides: Art Research Guide: Start Here

Recommended Databases

Art & Architecture Source
- This link opens in a new window
Covers visual arts, architecture, and decorative and commercial arts. Popular & academic sources.
Includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. For use by art scholars, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
Art Full Text
Covers visual arts, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Peer Reviewed journals and trade periodicals.
Arts Sources from ProQuest
Search journals and publications in ProQuest Art sources.
Art and Architecture Archive
Art and architecture digital magazines archive. Full document image format.
Coverage from 1860 to 2005
Digitized backfiles of art and architecture magazines and trade publications from the 20th century. Covering sub-disciplines from fine and applied arts to interior design, industrial design, and landscape gardening. Issues are scanned from cover to cover in high resolution color and presented in page image format with fully searchable text. Includes each issue from volume 1, issue 1, up to a termination point of 2005 or 2015 (the latter for publications added more recently to the database). Due to the rarity of some original print volumes, there are small gaps (issues or pages) in some publications.
Oxford Art Online
Excellent art reference works, including the peer-reviewed Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Covers ancient to contemporary art and architecture. Includes images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.
Humanities Full Text
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic streaming films and videos, including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, and more. Films from PBS and the BBC are included.

All Databases
See all the databases available through the library!
Archives of American Art
Primary sources covering American art and artists, including diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, films, audio recordings, video recordings, and oral histories documenting the history of the visual arts in America. Part of the Smithsonian Institution.

Even More Databases

America: History & Life
Scholarly journals, magazines, and books covering history of the United States and Canada from pre-history to present. For coverage of the rest of the world see Historical Abstracts.
Historical Abstracts
Scholarly journals, magazines, and books covering the history of the world from 1400 to the present (excluding the history of the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).

History Research Guide
by Kelly Frost Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 418 views this year

Gerritsen Women's History Collection
Books, periodicals, and pamphlets on women's history and the evolution of feminism. Covers four centuries and 15 languages, with publications from the U.S., U.K., Canada, New Zealand, and continental Europe.
Two collections in this database:
The Periodical Series: This segment represents about 25 percent of the material in the database. It comprises 265 titles, including The Suffragist (1913-21) and The Women's Protest Against Woman Suffrage (1912-18).
Monograph Language Series: These 4,471 monographs and pamphlets make up about 75 percent of the collection. Included are 2,336 titles tracing suffragism in the English-speaking world. The collection will soon include 929 German titles that document the history of organized movements in Germany and Switzerland, and 734 French titles that cover women's issues from Gallic times through World War II.
Women's Magazine Archive
Complete archives of consumer magazines published for a female audience, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies Home Journal. These magazines cover family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and culture, and provide canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Publications are in high-resolution color.
Women and Social Movements, International
Conference proceedings, organization reports, publications, and websites of women's non-governmental organizations. Also includes letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century, as well as photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of women’s international social movements.
Detailed Guide to this resource.
North American Womens Letters and Diaries
Collection of women’s diaries letters, and correspondence spanning more than 300 years, covering the personal experiences of hundreds of North American women.

American Women's History Online
Primary sources, including photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc., documenting the women's history in the US. Materials range from Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s. From Middle Tennessee State University.

ProQuest Central
Multi-disciplinary database with scholarly journals, news sources, magazines, and more!
JSTOR
Scholarly, academic journal articles, books, and book chapters.
Project Muse
Scholarly academic journal articles and books in many disciplines.
Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals and popular periodicals.

All Databases
See all the databases available through the library!

Chicago Manual of Style Online
Access the complete Chicago Manual of Style online.

Library

Art Research Guide

Department Homepage

Research Help!

Meet with a Librarian!

Recommended Databases

Even More Databases