Research Guides: African Studies Research Guide: Start Here

Recommended Databases

Historical Abstracts
Scholarly journals, magazines, and books covering the history of the world from 1400 to the present (excluding the history of the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
ProQuest Central
Multi-disciplinary database with scholarly journals, news sources, magazines, and more!
JSTOR
Scholarly, academic journal articles, books, and book chapters.
Project Muse
Scholarly academic journal articles and books in many disciplines.
Political Science Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Covers political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory, and comparative politics. Includes journals and conference papers.
Political Science Database
Leading journals in political science, public policy, and international relations. Also includes working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, and policy papers, as well as recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics.

African e-Journals Project
Academic Journals published on the African continent. From Michigan State University.
African Journals Open Access from Sabinet
African Journal Archive
Retrospective open access archive of African journal literature dating as far back as 1906, from African publishers and societies.
Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa (CODESRIA) Publications Catalog
Leading scholarly publisher in the social sciences on the African continent. Catalog of books, papers, and other publications
Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa (CODESRIA) Department of Publications and Dissemination
Leading scholarly publisher in the social sciences on the African continent. Journal titles include:
Africa Development; Journal of Higher Education in Africa; African Sociological Review; Identity, Culture and Politics: an afro-asian dialogue; and Africa Review of Books.

EconLit
Covers international scholarly economic literature, including journals, books, chapters, essays, proceedings, working papers, and more. Sources discuss economic theory and application, as well as other economics topics.
ABI/Inform Collection
US and International business periodicals with in-depth coverage of business & economic conditions, management techniques, business theory & practice, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, and taxation
Business Source Complete
Covers scholarly journals and business trade periodicals, as well as case studies, market research reports, industry reports, financial data, books, conference proceedings, investment research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
Environment Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, academic journals and books on environmental studies, including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, and sustainability.
Environmental Issues Online
Multimedia materials - texts, video, audio, archival primary sources - covering environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation, and more.
Explores the relationship between people and the environment through social, cultural, economic, political, historical and ecological perspectives.
GreenFILE
Covers human impact on the environment. Includes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles covering global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
Biology and agricultural research journals, including sub-disciplines of agricultural industry, veterinary science, wildlife management and environmental science.
General Science Full Text
Database covering scientific subjects including astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology, and more.

Social Sciences Full Text
English-language social science journals covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Sociology Database
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory, social psychology, and more.
PsycInfo
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycInfo is the most comprehensive database covering psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in psychology, behavioral sciences, and mental health.
Psychology Database
Provides abstracts and indexing of key psychology journals.

Psychology Research Guide
by Ethan Cutler Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 1337 views this year

ATLA Religion Database
Covers religious and theological studies, including biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues, theology, philosophy, and ethics. Includes ATLAS collection of 400+ full text religion and theology journals. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Art & Architecture Source
- This link opens in a new window
Covers visual arts, architecture, and decorative and commercial arts. Popular & academic sources.
Includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. For use by art scholars, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
Art Full Text
Covers visual arts, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Peer Reviewed journals and trade periodicals.
Humanities Full Text
Covers fields of the humanities, including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion, literature, and more. Content includes academic and popular publications, feature articles, interviews, obituaries, works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews of plays, operas, ballets, dance, musicals, films, television and radio.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Scholarly sources on all aspects of modern literature, languages and linguistics, theatre and drama.
ProQuest Central
Multi-disciplinary database with scholarly journals, news sources, magazines, and more!

Library

African Studies Research Guide

Department Homepage

Research Help!

Meet with a Librarian!

Recommended Databases