Do you have access to a journal?
1.) Online Journals at K
- Search the Title of the Journal to locate article in a Full Text Database
2.) WestCat Journal List - Western Michigan's catalog
3.) Interlibrary Loan
- Order item through Interlibrary Loan
- Use *only* when the journal is not available through Online Journals at K or Library OneSearch
Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines/Newspapers
- Authors are scholars or researchers in their fields.
- Authors cite their sources in footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.
- Articles must go through a peer-review process.
- Articles usually report original scholarly research.
- Authors use the specialized language or jargon of the discipline.
Popular Magazines (Time, Newsweek, Rolling Stone)
- Authors are free lance writers or magazine staff members.
- Authors may mention sources, but rarely cite them in notes or bibliographies.
- There is no peer review process. Articles are reviewed by editors or publishers.
- Articles are meant to inform and entertain an educated audience.
- Language is written for the general adult audience (no specialized jargon).
Indexes tell you who published what - and give you citations with the author, article title, journal title, volume number, publication date, and page number. Indexes do not always give you the full text of articles.
- EconLit - index to scholarly literature for Economics & Business
- Business Abstracts with Full Text - scholarly journals and business publications
- ABI/Inform Global - scholarly journals and business publications. Includes trade publications
- General Business File ASAP - scholarly journals and business publications
- ProQuest Business & Economics databases
- ABI/Inform Complete - Searches all ABI/Inform databases at once
- Accounting , Tax & Banking (1971-Current)