Skip to Main Content

SEMN 201 Beauty Across Cultures

The search for the beautiful woman a cultural history of Japanese and Chinese beauty

Brown Beauty : Color, Sex, and Race from the Harlem Renaissance to World War II

Stylin' African American Expressive Culture, from Its Beginnings to the Zoot Suit

Aesthetics and nature

The beauty bias: the injustice of appearance in life and law

The beauty industry: gender, culture, pleasure

Nature and landscape : an introduction to environmental aesthetics

Hair raising : beauty, culture, and African American women

Beauty and the Norm Debating Standardization in Bodily Appearance

Natural beauty: a theory of aesthetics beyond the arts

Beauty imagined a history of the global beauty industry

Aesthetics of the natural environment

Style and Status Selling Beauty to African American Women, 1920-1975

Liberated Threads: Black Women, Style, and the Global Politics of Soul

Beauty and business : commerce, gender, and culture in modern America

The Governmentality of Black Beauty Shame: Discourse, Iconicity and Resistance

Recommended Databases

Library OneSearch
Find books, articles and more available through K's Library Advanced Search.

Subject Area Databases

BioOne
High quality scholarly journals focused on biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Includes subscribed and open-access publications.
General Science Full Text
Covers scientific subjects including astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology, and more. Full-text articles include graphs, charts, diagrams, photos and illustrations.
Art & Architecture Source
- This link opens in a new window
Covers visual arts, architecture, and decorative and commercial arts. Popular & academic sources.
Includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. For use by art scholars, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
Sociology Database
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory, social psychology, and more.
Social Sciences Full Text
English-language social science journals covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
PsycInfo
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycInfo is the most comprehensive database covering psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in psychology, behavioral sciences, and mental health.
Historical Abstracts
Scholarly journals, magazines, and books covering the history of the world from 1400 to the present (excluding the history of the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Humanities Source
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and publications covering the arts and humanities, literary and creative thought.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Scholarly sources on all aspects of modern literature, languages and linguistics, theatre and drama.

Big, Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR
Scholarly, academic journal articles, books, and book chapters.
Project Muse
Scholarly academic journal articles and books in many disciplines.
ProQuest Central
Multi-disciplinary database with scholarly journals, news sources, magazines, and more!
Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals and popular periodicals.

We're here to help!

Research Rescue
Schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian in the library or on Teams.

Email us at reference@kzoo.edu

Ask a Librarian
Online form to contact the Library.

Develop a research plan

What are the key concepts of your research question?

Can you broaden or narrow your focus? Consider one or more of the following:

time period
place
specific event
specific people

Does your question overlap other subject disciplines such as sociology, political science, or history?

Think about the history of your question, its disciplines, and/or categories.
Who are the key people? What did they do? Why did it happen?

Think about the following aspects relating to your research question:

What do you already know about your question or issue?
What do you need to learn to better understand your question or issue?
What kinds of information resources might provide answers to these questions?

Consider your audience:

Who will read your paper?
Why will it be of interest to them?
What will be new to them?