Research Guides: MUSC/SEMN 256: Music and Identity: Library Databases

Databases

Humanities Full Text
Covers fields of the humanities, including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion, literature, and more. Content includes academic and popular publications, feature articles, interviews, obituaries, works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews of plays, operas, ballets, dance, musicals, films, television and radio.
ProQuest Central
Multi-disciplinary database with scholarly journals, news sources, magazines, and more!
Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals and popular periodicals.
JSTOR
Scholarly, academic journal articles, books, and book chapters.
Project Muse
Scholarly academic journal articles and books in many disciplines.
PsycArticles
Searchable full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.

NewsBank
International and major US Newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, videos, blogs, and Acceda Noticias (in Spanish).
Newspaper Source Plus
- This link opens in a new window
US and International Newspapers, newswires, news magazines, television and radio transcripts. Includes The Washington Post and USA Today.

National Public Radio (NPR)
American privately and publicly funded non-profit membership media organization based in Washington, D.C.

New York Times (1980-Present)
Full text of New York Times East Coast edition from June 1980-present. Text only - no images.

Washington Post (1996-present)
Major U.S. daily newspaper with an emphasis on national politics and the federal government. Published in Washington, D.C.
PBS NewHour

NewsBank
International and major US Newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, videos, blogs, and Acceda Noticias (in Spanish).
Guardian and Observer (1791 - 2003)
Covers two major UK newspapers - The Guardian (1821-2003) & The Observer (1791-2003). Cover-to-cover contents for each issue, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format.
Times of India (1838 - 2010)
Full text of the English language daily newspaper covering India.

Kalamazoo Gazette Collection (1837-1922, 2005-Present)
Search the local Kalamazoo newspaper.
Kalamazoo Gazette from 2005 through today, including full text, web-only content, and full-color image edition. Also includes historical content from 1837-1922.
Detroit News (1999-present)
Major newspaper for Detroit.

Many library databases contain newspapers. Look for filters to easily track down these types of popular media sources.

Filters can be applied before OR after a search!

ProQuest Central
Multi-disciplinary database with scholarly journals, news sources, magazines, and more!

Advanced Search page with source type newspaper highlighted with box and arrow

Search result page with Newspaper source type highlighted

Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals and popular periodicals.

Advanced search screen with Newspaper Publication type highlighted database search screen with newspaper source type highlighted

If you can't find the full-text, we can help!

Online Journals @ K
Know what journal you're looking for? Search to see if we have it at K.
Library OneSearch
Find books, articles and more available through K's library
Interlibrary Loan
Log in with your K College username and password to place requests and access articles received.
Ask a Librarian
Online form to contact the Library.