Research Guides: Music Research Guide: Start Here

Recommended Music Databases

Oxford Music Online
Grove Dictionary of Music is accessible here!
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Encyclopedia devoted to ethnomusicology and music research of all the world's peoples. Scholarly articles and audio recordings of music from every continent.
Music Reference Collection
Music reference works, dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, and songsheets covering genres, cultural groups, time periods, and geographic regions.
American Music
Listen to songs by and about Americans - Immigrants, Native Americans, slaves, pioneers, miners, cowboys, and children; songs about Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
African American Music Reference
Reference works on African American Music, including biographies, oral histories, encyclopedia articles, and more.
Classical Music Reference Library
Reference works covering the history of Western classical music
Included Reference Works:
Baker's Dictionary of Music
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music

Library OneSearch
Find books, articles and more available through K's Library

Humanities Full Text
Project Muse
JSTOR
Rolling Stone Archive (1967-current)
Archive of the magazine from its launch in 1967 to the present. Covers rock and popular music journalism, as well as popular culture, film, and television.

History Databases

America: History & Life
Scholarly journals, magazines, and books covering history of the United States and Canada from pre-history to present. For coverage of the rest of the world, see Historical Abstracts.
Historical Abstracts
Scholarly journals, magazines, and books covering the history of the world from 1400 to the present (excluding the history of the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Music Periodicals of the 19th Century
Periodicals on American musical life from 1838 to the early 1900s; includes local and international news, reviews, editorials, sheet music, and advertisements.

Music Online: Listening
Streaming music from around the world; breadth and depth in coverage of key musical genres: Classical, Jazz, World, American, and Pop.
Musical Genres covered:
* Classical: All major genres & time periods, from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, & the avant-garde.
* Jazz: All major genres including vocal jazz, bebop, acid jazz, big band, modern jazz.
* World: Music from 169 countries and more than 1,000 cultural groups
* American: Country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, & shape note singing.
* Popular: Wide range of popular music from around the world that is not available in our genre-specific collections.
Naxos Music Library
Online music library containing thousands of albums and tracks.
Met Opera on Demand
Stream over 800 full-length Metropolitan Opera performances.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Historic audio recordings and materials from field expeditions around the world, focused on the 1960s through the 1980s. Highlights the early study of ethnomusicology and music in its cultural context.
Detailed Guide to this resource.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Audio encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.
Popular Music Library
Contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
Jazz Music Library
Largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
Contemporary World Music
Collection of music genres from all regions across the globe. From reggae to world fusion, Balkanic jazz to African film, Bollywood to Arab swing and jazz, and traditional music such as Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, and gagaku.

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic streaming films and videos, including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, and more. Includes films and programs from PBS and the BBC.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Streaming documentaries, feature films, & training videos.

Library

Music Research Guide

Department Homepage

Research Help!

Meet with a Librarian!

Recommended Music Databases

History Databases

Streaming Music

Music Course Guides