Research Guides: Guide to News & Media: Home

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

From social media feeds to 18th century newspapers, all forms of media can provide information, insight, and rich source material for academic research. Librarians are always on hand to help you access and make sense of the ever changing media landscape.

News Sites

From the Open Internet

Sometimes archival & full-text access will be denied.

Google News
The latest news and top stories from leading publications.
National Public Radio (NPR)
Independent, nonprofit media organization founded on the mission to create a more informed public. NPR has over 200 local newsrooms covering journalism, music, politics, and culture.

Library Subscribed Databases

NewsBank
International and major US Newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, videos, blogs, and Acceda Noticias (in Spanish).
Access World News
International & US newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, journals, videos, blogs, and Acceda Noticias in Spanish. Coverage dates range from five years ago to thirty years ago, depending on the title.
Newspaper Source Plus
US and International Newspapers, newswires, news magazines, television and radio transcripts. Includes The Washington Post and USA Today.
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (incl. Newsweek) (1918 - 2015)
News magazines of the 20th century, covering political history, current events, public policy, international relations, and more.
Title List:
Americas; Washington; Mar 1949 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - Jun 2012 (Vol. 64, no. 3)
Church & State; Washington; May 15, 1948 - Dec 2015 (Vol. 68, no. 11)
Common Cause Magazine; Washington; Oct 1980 (Vol. 6, no. 4) - Mar 1, 1996 (Vol. 22, no. 1)
Dollars & Sense; Somerville; Sep 1977 (no. 29) - Nov 2015 (no. 321), some exceptions
Europe; Washington; Oct 1954 (no. 1) - Dec 2002 (no. 422)
Fellowship; New York; Apr 1935 (Vol. 1, no. 2) - Sep 1, 2016 (Vol. 80, no. 1-10), some exceptions
In These Times; Chicago; Nov 15, 1976 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - Dec 2015 (Vol. 39, no. 12)
NATO Review; Brussels; Nov 1953 (Vol. 1, no. 3) - Oct 2001 (Vol. 49)
New Internationalist; Oxford; Mar 1973 (no. 1) - Dec 2013 (no. 468)
Newsweek; New York; Feb 17, 1933 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - Dec 31, 2012 (Vol. 160, no. 27)
State Legislatures; Denver; Jun 1975 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - Dec 2015 (Vol. 41, no. 10)
UN Chronicle; New York; May 1964 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - Dec 2015 (Vol. 52, no. 3)
The Unesco Courier; Paris; Feb 1948 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - Dec 2001
Whole Earth; Sausalito; Jan 1974 (no. 4) - Oct 2002 (no. 109)
The World Tomorrow; New York; Jan 1918 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - Jul 26, 1934 (Vol. 17, no. 15)
Detailed Guide to this resource.
World Events and the Media
Collection that examines different ways of doing journalism, including investigative reporting, coverage of crises and wars, and how technology is changing the media. Includes personal stories, memoirs, historical texts, videos, and old records.

From the Open Internet

Sometimes archival & full-text access will be denied.

Associated Press (AP)
Independent global news organization dedicated to factual reporting. U.S.-based and not-for-profit.
Axios
News stories in brief, with links to high-quality longer reads. Axios is an independent news organization.
CNN
Breaking world news and coverage of various topics, including sports, technology, entertainment, and more.
Fox News
24-hour cable and satellite news channel owned by Fox Entertainment Group.
HuffPost
U.S. news and opinion website and blog with local and international editions.
National Public Radio (NPR)
Independent, nonprofit media organization founded on the mission to create a more informed public. NPR has over 200 local newsrooms covering journalism, music, politics, and culture.
New York Times Website
Daily news from the U.S. and the world, as well as opinion essays.
more...less...
For full-text access, please use Library databases that include the New York Times.
1980-present: https://www.proquest.com/publication/11561/accountid=11782
1851-2021: https://www.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/accountid=11782
USA Today Online
U.S. daily middle-market newspaper and flagship publication of its owner, the Gannett Company. Aimed at a generally centrist audience and internationally distributed.

Washington Post (1987-current)
Wall Street Journal (1984-Present)
Eastern edition with full text. January 1984 - present. No images - Text only.

Library Subscribed Databases

New York Times (1980-Present)
Full text of New York Times East Coast edition from June 1980-present. Text only - no images.
Kalamazoo Gazette Collection (1837-1922 and 2005-Present)
Search the Kalamazoo Gazette, local newspaper.
Kalamazoo Gazette from 2005 through today, including full text, web-only content, and full-color image edition. Also includes historical content from 1837-1922.

From the Open Internet

Sometimes archival & full-text access will be denied.

Bloomberg.com
Provides market data and top business news from various parts of the world. Access to content may require a subscription.
Forbes
U.S. business magazine that features original articles on finance, industry, investing, and marketing topics. Published bi-weekly.
The Economic Times
Indian daily newspaper in English language, published by Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. The world's second-most widely read English-language business newspaper, after the Wall Street Journal.

Wall Street Journal (1984-Present)
Eastern edition with full text. January 1984 - present. No images - Text only.

Financial Times
International daily newspaper, headquartered in London and owned by Nikkei Inc. In English. Focus on business and economic news.
more...less...
Financial Times website: https://www.ft.com/
Business Insider
American financial and business news website.
MarketWatch
Financial information website with business news, analysis, and stock market data. Subsidiary of Dow Jones & Company, a property of News Corp, which also owns The Wall Street Journal.

Library Subscribed Databases

From the Open Internet

Sometimes archival & full-text access will be denied.

NHK
International service of NHK, Japan's national public broadcasting organization. Programming in English.
Asahi Shimbun
One of the five national newspapers in Japan.
Japan Times
Japan's largest and oldest English-language daily newspaper. Founded in 1897.

From the Open Internet

Sometimes archival & full-text access will be denied.

The Korea Times
Oldest of three English-language daily newspapers published in South Korea. Sister paper to the Hankook Ilbo, a major Korean language daily.
The Korea Herald
English-language daily newspaper published in Seoul, South Korea. The editorial staff is includes Korean and international writers and editors. Additional news coverage is drawn from international news agencies such as the Associated Press. Founded in 1953.
Korea JoongAng Daily
English language version of the South Korean national daily newspaper JoongAng Ilbo. One of three English language daily newspapers in South Korea, along with The Korea Times and The Korea Herald.
Yonhap News Agency (English edition)
South Korean news agency that provides news articles, pictures and other information to newspapers, TV networks, and other media in South Korea.
Chosun Ilbo (English edition)
One of the major newspapers in South Korea.
The Seoul Times
Online Korean newspaper in English for foreigners in Korea.

Historical (Library subscribed content)

Korea Times‎ (1956 - 2016)
English language Korean newspaper published daily.
Detailed explanation of ProQuest Historical Newspapers. *We own most but not all of the titles listed on the Guide.* Korea Times website: http://www.koreatimes.co.kr/

From the Open Internet

Sometimes archival & full-text access will be denied.

People.cn
Official newspaper of the Chinese Communist Party, published worldwide with a circulation of 3 million. From the largest newspaper group in China.
more...less...
People's Daily Online: English
XinhuaNet
Official state-run press agency of the People's Republic of China, in English. Xinhua is the largest and most influential media organization in China.
Sixth Tone
Shanghai based new media source
China Central Television - CCTV News
Largest national television news source in China.

Historical (Library subscribed content)

Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832 - 1953)
22 historical newspapers published in Beijing & Shanghai from 1832 to 1953. Most titles are in English.
Titles included are:
North China Herald (1850-1941)
Canton Times (1919-1920)
China Critic (1939-1946)
The China Press (1925-1938)
China Weekly Review (1917-1953)
Chinese Recorder (1868-1940)
Chinese Repository (1832-1851)
Peking Daily News (1914-1917)
Peking Gazette (1915-1917)
Peking Leader (1918-1919
Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921)
Shanghai Times (1914-1921)
South China Morning Post (1903 - 2001)
Hong Kong English-language newspaper and newspaper of record. Covers politics and society.

From the Open Internet

Sometimes archival & full-text access will be denied.

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation - CBC
National Canadian public broadcaster for both radio and television.

Globe and Mail (1844-2021)
Canadian newspaper printed in five cities in western and central Canada.
Globe and Mail website: https://www.theglobeandmail.com/

Toronto Star (1894-present)
Canada's largest daily broadsheet newspaper.
La Presse
French-language digital newspaper published daily in Montreal, Québec, Canada. Owned by a social trust.

Historical (Library subscribed content)

From the Open Internet

Sometimes archival & full-text access will be denied.

BBC News
Leading news network in the United Kingdom, covering the UK and the world.
Daily Mail
British tabloid middle market daily newspaper, published in London and founded in 1896. The United Kingdom's second-biggest-selling daily newspaper after The Sun.
The Telegraph
British national daily broadsheet newspaper published in London.
Reuters
International news agency headquartered in London, United Kingdom.

Historical (Library subscribed content)

Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003)
London-based newspaper - includes every published issue, from the first in 1842 to the last in 2003. Full-text with high-quality digital imaging.
Sent an email 1/29/25 with the following URL
Title
URL
Access Code
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
https://link.gale.com/apps/ILN?u=lom_kalcoll
kepdorp
We decided not to update the link for now. ~kmf
Guardian and Observer (1791 - 2003)
Covers two major UK newspapers - The Guardian (1821-2003) & The Observer (1791-2003). Cover-to-cover contents for each issue, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format.

The Scotsman
Scottish newspaper established as a radical political paper in 1817. Began daily publication in 1855 and remained a broadsheet until August 2004.

From the Open Internet

Sometimes archival & full-text access will be denied.

AllAfrica
Current news in English and French from nearly 200 African news sources, organized by region and country as well as topically - business, health, science, sports, etc. - and with a searchable archives (back to 1997). Formed in cooperation with Africa News Service.
Electronic Journals and Newspapers on Africa
Directory of online and open access Africa-based newspapers, organized by country. From Columbia University Libraries.
Afrik.com
Afrocentric news covering current events, culture, and economics, with a focus on Francophone Africa. *in French
Afrik News
English-language version of Afrik.com, covering afro-centric news.

From the Open Internet

Sometimes archival & full-text access will be denied.

NDTV New Delhi Television
Indian television and news media company focusing on broadcast and digital news publication.
India Today
Indian English-language news magazine and news television channel.
Hindustan Times
Indian daily newspaper in English. Founded in 1924, with roots in the Indian Independence movement.

Historical (Library subscribed content)

The Times of India (1838-2012)
Indian English-language daily newspaper. Fourth-largest Indian newspaper by circulation.

Title	URL	Access Code
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003	https://link.gale.com/apps/ILN?u=lom_kalcoll	kepdorp