Research Guides: Languages Research Guide: Start Here

Recommended Databases

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Largest database with citations to sources on Languages, Linguistics, and Literature in most languages.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World
Information on 7000 living languages of the world, including names and dialects, language classifications and language family trees. Entries on countries list languages, language counts, principal languages, languages by vitality level, population estimates, location, usage, and second language information.
Project Muse
JSTOR
ProQuest Central
Humanities Full Text
Mango Languages
Language learning courses and streaming international films in different languages.
Video tutorial for Mango Languages.

Digitalia Film Library
Collection of multinational, multilingual, feature films and documentaries from South America, Asia, and Europe. Most films are in Spanish and Portuguese with English subtitles.
Public Performance Rights apply to all films in this collection.

Kanopy Languages & Global Studies
Streaming Films in several languages and on Global Studies.

Mango Languages
Streaming films available in multiple languages!
Video tutorial for Mango Languages.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic streaming films and videos, including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, and more. Films from PBS and the BBC are included.

Telescope Film
Database of international films and television, available from various streaming services.

Access World News
International & US newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, journals, videos, blogs, and Spanish access noticias. Coverage dates range from five years ago to thirty years ago, depending on the title.
NewsBank
International and major US Newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, videos, blogs, and Acceda Noticias (in Spanish).

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Scholarly sources on all aspects of modern literature, languages and linguistics, theatre and drama.
Essay & General Literature Index
Citations of essays in anthologies and collections published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Covering the humanities and social sciences, including literary works, art history, drama, and film. Indexing: 1985 to present.
Project Muse
Scholarly academic journal articles and books in many disciplines.
JSTOR
Scholarly, academic journal articles, books, and book chapters.

Historical Abstracts
Scholarly journals, magazines, and books covering the history of the world from 1400 to the present (excluding the history of the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Sociology Database
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory, social psychology, and more.
Social Sciences Full Text
English-language social science journals covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.