Research Guides: HIST 283: Occupiers and Occupied: Start Here!

Recommended Resources

Multidisciplinary Databases

ProQuest Central
Lots of Asian, sociology, and historical journals inside this huge database. Great for cultural questions.
JSTOR
Scholarly, academic journal articles, books, and book chapters.

History Databases

You can limit your search to the Historical Period. Clicking the name of the database will allow you to search both of these (or even more databases) at once.

America: History & Life
Scholarly journals, magazines, and books covering history of the United States and Canada from pre-history to present. For coverage of the rest of the world, see Historical Abstracts.
Historical Abstracts
Find academic articles covering the history of the world from 1400 to the present.

Finding Resources Beyond K

Use these links to access resources and request them from other libraries.

Articles

LibKey Nomad (Connects through the Library Website)
Browser extension that connects citations on the internet to K's full-text databases
Link Google Scholar to K's Library
Access K Library's licensed resources when searching Google Scholar! Go to Google Scholar and add Kalamazoo College Library in the "Library Links" settings. Once you set and save the "Library Links" setting, you will be able to link to K's library resources while using Google Scholar.
Interlibrary Loan
Log in with your K College username and password to place requests and access articles received.

Books

MeLCat
MeLCat is a statewide network of Michigan academic, public, and school libraries that share resources with each other. *Remember to use the barcode on your K ID to request materials from MeLCat.*
Interlibrary Loan
ILL can also be used to request books from other libraries

WorldCat.org
Catalog of books and other materials held in libraries around the world. K College users may borrow items they find in WorldCat via Interlibrary Loan.

Library

HIST 283: Occupiers and Occupied

Class Librarian

Crafting Research Questions with AI