Research Guides: HIST/SEMN 210: Exceptional America?: Primary Sources

Browse Historical Magazines

2nd Floor: 1974-2012
Online: 1945-Present

2nd Floor: 1973-2010
No online availability.

2nd Floor: 1930-2017
Online: 1923-Present

2nd Floor: 1888-2019
Online: 1888-Present

2nd Floor: 1950-2017
Online: 1845-Present

2nd Floor: 1947-2010
Online: 1933-2012

2nd Floor: 1957-1972, 1984-2000
Basement: 1936-1956
Online: 1936-1972, 1996-2000

2nd Floor: 1975-2011
Online: 1970-Present

2nd Floor: 1964-2017
Online: 1951-Present

History Vault
Primary sources and documents on 19th and 20th-century American history. Sources include digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and more.
ProQuest Congressional
Legislative and executive publications, including the Congressional Record, Congressional Hearings, and more.
Detailed Guide to this resource.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Primary sources documenting women's movements and women activists in the US, with a focus on the 19th and 20th centuries. Topics include women and antislavery, women's suffrage, the Feminist movement, Equal Rights movement, and women's role in Civil Rights .

Primary Sources Databases from K
Specialty databases with primary sources in a variety of disciplines.

Digital Public Library of America
Millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Primary sources from the Library of Congress covering all aspects of American life and history.
Internet Archive
Open and permanent access to historical collections in digital format for researchers and the public.
more...less...
“Books in this collection may be borrowed by logged in patrons for a period of two weeks. You may read the books online in your browser, or download them into Adobe Digital Editions, a free piece of software used for managing loans.”
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Prints, photographs, manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, illustrated books, printed ephemera, streaming video, and more from the New York Public Library Collections.

Smithsonian Digital Collections
National Museum of American History
Search and browse primary sources and objects in the Smithsonian's collections relating to U.S. History.

Guide to Primary Sources at K
Guide created and curated by your librarians at K!

Statistical Abstract of the US
Statistics on demographics and social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. 1878-present.
Detailed Guide to this resource.
Statista
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Provides quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, technology, health, public opinion, and market research.

Pew Research Center
Nonpartisan U.S. fact tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. Based in Washington, D.C.
Gallop Poll: Public Opinion
Compilation of polls taken by the Gallup Organization from the years 1935-2012

So many options! I've created a page just for finding old magazines and newspapers!

Historical Newspapers
Full-text content from U.S. & international newspapers from the 19th century to the late 20th century. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, cartoons, classifieds, and obituaries.
See title list of over 400 historical newspapers.

Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Index to popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. Includes Time, Newsweek, US & World News Report, National Geographic, The Atlantic, Harpers, The New Yorker, and many more.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (1982-Present)
Index to recent popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada.