Research Guides: HIST 205: US Women Since 1870: Start Here!

Recommended Primary Sources

Historical Magazines in Print

Find these on the second floor, in the compact shelving. Browse by year in person or search by keyword online.

Ms.
American liberal feminist magazine, the first of its kind in the U.S.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1973-2010
No online availability.
Ebony
Monthly magazine focusing on news, culture, and entertainment within the African American community.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1974-2012
Online: 1945-Present
Time
American news magazine covering current affairs, politics, business, health, science, and entertainment.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1930-2017
Online: 1923-Present
Historical Magazine Collection at K Library
Complete list of magazines highlighted in K Library's historical magazine collection.

Online Historical Magazines

Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Index to popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. Includes Time, Newsweek, US & World News Report, National Geographic, The Atlantic, Harpers, The New Yorker, and many more.
American Periodicals (1740-1940)
American magazines, newspapers, and journals in digitized page image format, published between 1740 and 1940.
Women's Magazine Archive
Complete archives of consumer magazines published for a female audience, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies Home Journal. These magazines cover family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and culture, and provide canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Publications are in high-resolution color.
Vogue Archive (1892 - current)
Digital Archive of the US edition of Vogue Magazine, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month.
Searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs have been included, with rich indexing enabling researchers to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
Youth and Popular Culture Magazine
Teen periodicals from the U.S., U.K. & Canada, 1940s-present, highlighting topics and trends of youth culture including fashion, rock and roll, sexuality and dating, as well as youth portrayal in the media.

Historical Newspapers
Full-text content from U.S. & international newspapers from the 19th century to the late 20th century. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, cartoons, classifieds, and obituaries.
See title list of over 400 historical newspapers.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Digitized American newspapers, 1789 - 1963. From the Library of Congress.
Ad*Access
Free database of historical Advertising Images (1911-1955) from Duke University

American Newsreels in Video
US newsreel footage covering the years leading up to and during the Second World War, 1929-1946.
Over 35 hours of the American weekly newsreel produced by the U.S. Office of War Information from 1942 to 1946, complete with transcripts, from United Newsreel. Universal Newsreel provides over 200 hours of film with full transcripts from Universal Studios’ biweekly series that ran from 1929 to 1946.

AdViews: Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commericals
Vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s.
Moving Image Research Collections
Collection of films and videos produced outside the American feature film industry, including news film, home movies, and civil rights movement film footage.
more...less...
Main collecting areas: the Chinese Film Collection, Newsfilm Collections, Regional Film Collections, Science and Nature Films and Military Films Collections. Materials include local television news and commercials, home movies, cinemicroscopy nature films, and fiction and documentary films from the People's Republic of China.
From the University of South Carolina.
Prelinger Archives
Thousands of "ephemeral" films (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) made from 1927 through the present.
Moving Image Archive from the Internet Archive
Includes television news broadcasts, historical film clips, alternative news broadcasts, classic full-length films, cartoons, and concerts.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Primary sources documenting women's movements and women activists in the US, with a focus on the 19th and 20th centuries. Topics include women and antislavery, women's suffrage, the Feminist movement, Equal Rights movement, and women's role in Civil Rights .

Ad*Access
Free database of historical Advertising Images (1911-1955) from Duke University
Digital Public Library of America
Millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website.
Internet Archive
Open and permanent access to historical collections in digital format for researchers and the public.
more...less...
“Books in this collection may be borrowed by logged in patrons for a period of two weeks. You may read the books online in your browser, or download them into Adobe Digital Editions, a free piece of software used for managing loans.”
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Prints, photographs, manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, illustrated books, printed ephemera, streaming video, and more from the New York Public Library Collections.
Guide to Primary Sources at K
Guide created and curated by your librarians at K!

Library

HIST 205: US Women Since 1870

Librarian

We're here to help!

Recommended Primary Sources

Historical Magazines in Print

Online Historical Magazines