Research Guides: ENGL 268: Victorian British Lit: Start Here!

Gallery Presentation Resources

NewsBank
International and major US Newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, videos, blogs, and Acceda Noticias (in Spanish).
New York Times (1980-Present)
Full text of New York Times East Coast edition from June 1980-present. Text only - no images.
Newspaper Source Plus
US and International Newspapers, newswires, news magazines, television and radio transcripts

Historical Abstracts
Scholarly journals, magazines, and books covering the history of the world from 1400 to the present
JSTOR
Scholarly, academic journal articles, books, and book chapters.

Center for New Media Design
Color printers available ($) and help with any design projects

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Scholarly sources on all aspects of modern literature, languages and linguistics, theatre, and film.

British Periodicals
Hundreds of British periodicals in full text, from the 17th century through the early 21st. Topics include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Colonial Legacies: Empire & Commonwealth Periodicals
Archive of over 30 periodicals covering the 20th-century history of the British Empire, decolonization, and the history and culture of former colonies.
The archive offers a mixture of British publications about the empire and titles published in Commonwealth countries (including Australia, New Zealand, India, Canada, South Africa, and Papua New Guinea).

Coverage spans over 150 years, ranging from the late-19th century to the 21st – these publications encompass the empire’s later phase and its post-independence legacies. It will support research in key events in colonial history, including the latter stages of the Scramble for Africa, the world wars, independence movements, the creation of the Commonwealth and more. While official publications contain valuable information about colonial administration and ideology, more popular titles, covering the arts, society, and general interests, provide insights into many facets of Commonwealth countries’ history and society before and after independence.

Historical Newspapers
Full-text content from U.S. & international newspapers from the 19th century to the late 20th century. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, cartoons, classifieds, and obituaries.
See title list of over 400 historical newspapers.

Documents on British Policy Overseas (1898 - 1990)
Primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO), covering diplomatic history during the 20th century.
Detailed Guide to this resource.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers
Complete coverage of the sessional papers of the British House of Commons and the 19th Century House of Lords. Includes over 200,000 papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688.

Title	URL	Access Code
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003	https://link.gale.com/apps/ILN?u=lom_kalcoll	kepdorp