Research Guides: CHIN 250: China from the Borders: Image Resources

Image Resources

Art Images
Historic Images

Artstor
High-quality images of artworks and cultural objects from institutions and museums that have been rights-cleared for education and research.

Artstor on JSTOR: Using Images Guide
Metropolitan Museum Open Access Images
The Metropolitan launched its Open Access Initiative that makes all images of public-domain artworks and basic data on all accessioned works in its collection available for unrestricted use under Creative Commons Zero (CC0).
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.
Smithsonian Open Access Images
Images from Smithsonian museums and institutions that can be freely used.
MOMA Collection Images
Artwork images from the Museum of Modern Art
Getty Search Gateway
Search several Getty repositories, including images, collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.

flickr Commons
Historic photographs from several public archives, museums, and institutions, including the Library of Congress, Smithsonian, etc.
Eastman Museum
Online collections from the George Eastman photography museum.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Catalog
Photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings from Library of Congress collections. While international in scope, the collections are rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Prints, photographs, manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, illustrated books, printed ephemera, streaming video, and more from the New York Public Library Collections.
Daguerreotypes at Harvard
Over 3,500 daguerreotypes from Harvard's photographic holdings.
more...less...
Includes early photographs of the moon, views of the first operations using ether as an anesthetic, rare portraits of African-born enslaved people, and more. Portraits include Horatio Alger, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Henry James, Jenny Lind, Harriet Beecher Stowe, and James McNeill Whistler. The collections represent the work of pioneering daguerreotypists Mathew Brady, Albert Sands Southworth and Josiah Johnson Hawes, John Adams Whipple, and others.
Historical Photos
Links to photo collections worldwide from AcademicInfo.
Life Magazine Historic Photos on Google
Internet Archive Images
All types of photographs and images from a variety of digital collections. From the Internet Archive.
Digital Public Library of America
Millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website.