Research Guides: Guide to News & Media: Periodicals

Image by Michael Zimmermann from Pixabay

Current Magazines

Youth and Popular Culture Magazine
Teen periodicals from the U.S., U.K. & Canada, 1940s-present, covers trends of youth culture including fashion, rock and roll, sexuality, dating, and youth portrayal in the media.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (1982-Present)
Index to recent popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada.
Vogue Archive (1892 - current)
Digital Archive of the US edition of Vogue Magazine, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month.
Searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs have been included, with rich indexing enabling researchers to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
GreenFILE
Covers human impact on the environment. Includes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles covering global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Chronicle of Higher Education
News journalism covering colleges and universities; includes job listings and career opportunities
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Covers contemporary social issues from multiple points of view.
ProQuest Central
Multi-disciplinary database with scholarly journals, news sources, magazines, and more!
Academic Search Complete
Many popular press periodicals

Digitized Historical Magazines / Serials / Periodicals

Youth and Popular Culture Magazine
Teen periodicals from the U.S., U.K. & Canada, 1940s-present, covers trends of youth culture including fashion, rock and roll, sexuality, dating, and youth portrayal in the media.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (1880 - 2000)
US and UK trade magazines covering the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
Detailed Guide to this resource.
LGBT Magazine Archive (1950-2015)
Archives of 26 of influential periodicals covering LGBT interests. 1954-2015
Includes The Advocate and Gay Times. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community.
National Geographic Magazine Archive (1888-1984)
Archives of the monthly American magazine primarily concerning science, geography, history, and world culture.
House Beautiful Archive (1896-Present)
Oldest still-published US interior design magazine. Covers women’s roles, family life, new technologies, and consumer behavior in domestic settings for over 125 years.
Art and Architecture Archive
Digitized backfiles of art and architecture magazines and trade publications from the 20th century. Coverage from 1860 to 2015. Full document image format.
Digitized backfiles of art and architecture magazines and trade publications from the 20th century. Covering sub-disciplines from fine and applied arts to interior design, industrial design, and landscape gardening. Issues are scanned from cover to cover in high resolution color and presented in page image format with fully searchable text. Includes each issue from volume 1, issue 1, up to a termination point of 2005 or 2015 (the latter for publications added more recently to the database). Due to the rarity of some original print volumes, there are small gaps (issues or pages) in some publications.
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (incl. Newsweek) (1918 - 2015)
News magazines of the 20th century, covering political history, current events, public policy, international relations, and more.
Title List:
Americas; Washington; Mar 1949 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - Jun 2012 (Vol. 64, no. 3)
Church & State; Washington; May 15, 1948 - Dec 2015 (Vol. 68, no. 11)
Common Cause Magazine; Washington; Oct 1980 (Vol. 6, no. 4) - Mar 1, 1996 (Vol. 22, no. 1)
Dollars & Sense; Somerville; Sep 1977 (no. 29) - Nov 2015 (no. 321), some exceptions
Europe; Washington; Oct 1954 (no. 1) - Dec 2002 (no. 422)
Fellowship; New York; Apr 1935 (Vol. 1, no. 2) - Sep 1, 2016 (Vol. 80, no. 1-10), some exceptions
In These Times; Chicago; Nov 15, 1976 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - Dec 2015 (Vol. 39, no. 12)
NATO Review; Brussels; Nov 1953 (Vol. 1, no. 3) - Oct 2001 (Vol. 49)
New Internationalist; Oxford; Mar 1973 (no. 1) - Dec 2013 (no. 468)
Newsweek; New York; Feb 17, 1933 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - Dec 31, 2012 (Vol. 160, no. 27)
State Legislatures; Denver; Jun 1975 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - Dec 2015 (Vol. 41, no. 10)
UN Chronicle; New York; May 1964 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - Dec 2015 (Vol. 52, no. 3)
The Unesco Courier; Paris; Feb 1948 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - Dec 2001
Whole Earth; Sausalito; Jan 1974 (no. 4) - Oct 2002 (no. 109)
The World Tomorrow; New York; Jan 1918 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - Jul 26, 1934 (Vol. 17, no. 15)
Detailed Guide to this resource.
Women's Magazine Archive
Archives of consumer magazines published for a female audience, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies Home Journal. These magazines cover family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and culture, and provide canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Each magazine contains volume 1, issue 1 through 2005. Publications are in high-resolution color.

Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History (HEARTH)
Collection of home economics periodicals from 19th & 20th century.

Men’s Magazine Archive (1845 - 2015)
Men’s interest magazines for research in men’s studies/history; also provides additional perspectives for women’s studies.
It includes some of the earliest publications of this type – National Police Gazette and Argosy – and covers key topics such as fashion, sports, health, and arts/entertainment.
Esquire Magazine Archive (1933-2014)
Every issue, from the first issue in 1933 through March 2014, cover to cover. Popular American men's magazine covering politics, men’s fashion, entertainment, fiction and pop culture.
GQ Archive
Backfile of GQ magazine from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts) through 2019. Covers general men’s-interest subjects, history of fashion, popular culture, masculinity, and society.
Rolling Stone Archive (1967-current)
Archive of the magazine from its launch in 1967 to the present. Covers rock and popular music journalism, as well as popular culture, film, and television.
Children’s Magazine Archive, 1866-2020
Backfiles of a variety of 20th-century US & UK magazines covering many aspects of children's lives and interests. Many titles focus on education, entertainment / literature, news, and religion / moral development.
Included titles: 3-2-1 Contact; The Boy's Own Paper; The Children's Newspaper; Electric Company Magazine; Kid City; Look and Learn; Sesame Street Magazine; Stone Soup.
American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857 - 1922)
Weekly Jewish publication from New York City.
Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, & Graphic Novels
Collection of adult comic books and graphic novels, as well as interviews, criticism, and journal articles. Covers pre-comics code era works to modern sequential releases from artists around the world.
Socialist and Radical Periodicals
Backfiles of US and UK periodicals reflecting the 20th/21st-century history of movements and ideologies on the political left. Covers labor history, workers' rights, international socialism, anti-Nazi movements, Red Scares, class struggles, campaigns, legislation, and youth radicalism.
Includes Marxist, socialist, communist, social democratic, and Fabianist publications.
Education Magazine Archive (1910 - 2015)
Archive of professional publications and magazines in the field of Education, from 1910 to 2015.
Detailed Guide to this resource.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines
Periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist, and British presses.
Music Periodicals of the 19th Century
Periodicals on American musical life from 1838 to the early 1900s; includes sheet music, reviews, advertisements, local and international news, and editorials.
Religious Magazine Archive (1845 - 2015)
Searchable archive of magazines (23 publications) devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries. 1845-2015.
Detailed Guide to this resource.
Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War (1914 - 1919)
Digital archive of rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War. Over 1,500 periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organisations, published between 1914 and the end of 1919.
Detailed Guide to this resource.
Ethnicity & Culture Magazine Archive (1918-Present)
Past issues of over thirty magazines from the 20th and 21st centuries, each covering specific ethnic groups. The magazines include a variety of topics, from politics to lifestyle, fashion, beauty, culture, and identity.
Title List:
African Mirror
Arab American Almanac
Black Masks
Creole Magazine
The Czechoslovak Review
Filipinas
The Finland Sentinel
An Gael
Issues and Views
Journal of the Hellenic Diaspora
La Herencia
The Philhellene
Polish American Journal
The Reporter
Shamakami
Voices Israel
Whispering Wind
Yolk

Accessible Archives
Primary sources from 18th & 19th century American newspapers, magazines, and books. Includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical records.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals
American periodicals published 1684-1912, covering US history, society, and culture. Specialized collections include African American studies, advertising, arts and culture, women's issues, health, science, industry, and religious topics.
American Periodicals (1740-1940)
American magazines, newspapers, and journals in digitized page image format, published between 1740 and 1940.

Making of America Journals (Cornell)
Primary sources covering American social history, primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Includes many old and rare journals.
more...less...
Title List:
The American Missionary (1878 - 1901)
The American Whig Review (1845 - 1852)
The Atlantic Monthly (1857 - 1901)
The Bay State Monthly (1884 - 1886)
The Century (1881 - 1899)
The Continental Monthly (1862 - 1864)
The Galaxy (1866 - 1878)
Harper's New Monthly Magazine (1850 - 1899)
The International Monthly Magazine (1850)
The International Monthly Magazine (1850 - 1852)
The Living Age (1844 - 1900)
Manufacturer and Builder (1869 - 1894)
The New England Magazine (1886 - 1900)
The New-England Magazine (1831 - 1835)
New Englander (1843 - 1892)
The North American Review (1815 - 1900)
The Old Guard (1863 - 1867)
Punchinello (1870)
Putnam's Monthly (1853 - 1870)
Scientific American (1846 - 1869)
Scribner's Magazine (1887 - 1896)
Scribner's Monthly (1870 - 1881)
The United States Democratic Review (1837 - 1859)

Newsweek Archive (1933-2012)
Archive of Newsweek Magazine, US news weekly of the 20th and 21st centuries. Covers US and global events, news and analysis, politics, business, science, technology, arts, travel, and family life.
Harper's Magazine Archive (1850-2000)
America's leading 19th century illustrated, general-interest monthly magazine.

Life Magazine via Google
Magazine know for excellent photography. Digitized issues back to 1935
Online Serials Page at the University of Pennsylvania
Open access archive of serials, including magazines, journals, newspapers, and other periodicals. Provided by the University of Pennsylvania.

Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Index to popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. Includes Time, Newsweek, US & World News Report, National Geographic, Harpers, The New Yorker, and many more.

British Periodicals
Hundreds of British periodicals in full text, from the 17th century through the early 21st. Topics include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Country Life Magazine Archive (1897 - 2005)
Focus on the British upper classes in the twentieth century, covering antiques, countryside estates and gardens, wildlife, architecture, the arts, food, and society news. Also provides a record of Britain’s great houses and restoration of early 20th-century structures.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003)
London-based newspaper - includes every published issue, from the first in 1842 to the last in 2003. Full-text with high-quality digital imaging.

Papers Past: National Library of New Zealand
New Zealand newspapers and periodicals published between 1839 and 2015.
UNZ Review Alternative Media
Alternative media outside the mainstream media over the last 150 years in England & America. Incomplete coverage; lots of interesting articles.

Harper's Bazaar Archive (1867 - current)
America's first fashion magazine. Complete run of US edition; UK edition covers 1929-2015.
Detailed Guide to this resource.
Vogue Archive (1892 - current)
Digital Archive of the US edition of Vogue Magazine, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month.
Searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs have been included, with rich indexing enabling researchers to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
Vogue Italia Archive (1964 - current)
Digital archive of Vogue Italia magazine - all issues from its 1964 launch to the present.
Detailed Guide to this resource.
Women's Wear Daily Archive
Archive of Women's Wear Daily magazine from its launch in 1910 up to six months ago, reproduced in high-resolution images. Documents the history of the fashion industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers, and advertisers.
Detailed Guide to this resource.

Historical Magazine Collection

Find the physical magazines on the 2nd Floor, follow the links to access the digital versions.

Advocate
American LGBT+ magazine focusing on news, politics, opinion, and arts and entertainment.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1994-2009
Online: 1985-Present
African Arts
Magazine with original research and critical discourse on traditional, contemporary, and popular African arts and expressive cultures.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1969-2010
Online: 1967-Present
America
Magazine focusing on news and opinon about Catholicism and how it relates to American politics and public life.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1958-2010
Online: 1909-Present
American Heritage
Magazine featuring articles on people, places, and events from U. S. history.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1950-2012
Online: 1990-Present
American History Illustrated
Magazine exploring America's past through stories, photography, and artwork.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1966-1985
Online: 1992-1994
Americas
ArtNews
American visual arts magazine focusing on art from ancient to contemporary times.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1942-
Internet Archive: 1902-2015
Asian Outlook
Asian People's Anti-Communist League publication providing a monthly report on the "Free Chinese" struggle against communism in Taiwan.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1972-1991
No online access.
Blind Spot Photography
Art magazine publishing work by living photographers.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1999-2013
Not available online.
Cambio 16
Spanish magazine covering current affairs, published in Madrid, Spain. In Spanish.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1980-2004
Not available online.
Ceramics Monthly
Magazine focusing on the field of ceramics art.
more...less...
2nd Floor:1975-2010
Online: 1997-Present
Christianity Today
Christian magazine providing biblical perspectives on current events.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1957-2009
Online: 1980-Present
Commentary
American magazine focusing on religion, Judaism, politics, and social and cultural issues.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1995-2009
Online: 1938-Present
Commonweal
Oldest independent Roman Catholic journal of opinion in the United States.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1995-2009
Online: 1988-Present
Consumer Reports
U.S. magazine covering consumer protection and independent reviews of consumer products and services based on in-house testing and surveys.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1950-2009
Online: 1991-Present
Crisis
Official magazine of the NAACP, founded by W.E.B Du Bois, and the oldest Black-owned magazine in the world.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1995-2009
Online: 1852-1857, 1997-Present
Current History
U.S. magazine dedicated to contemporary world affairs.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1919-2009
Online: 1941-Present
Der Spiegel
German weekly news magazine featuring investigative journalism, the largest of its kind in Europe. In German.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1996-2008
Online: 1947-Present
Downbeat
American music magazine devoted to jazz, blues, and more.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1979-2016
Not available online
Ebony
Monthly magazine focusing on news, culture, and entertainment within the African American community.
more...less...
Behind the Stairs on the 2nd Floor: 1974-2012
Online: 1945-Present
Encore
Southwest Michigan and Kalamazoo's monthly culture, arts, and lifestyle magazine.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1992-2003
Online: 2010-Present
Esquire
American entertainment magazine, traditionally marketed for a male audience.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1979-2004
Online: 1933-Present
https://col-kzoo.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01COL_KZOO/1018btr/alma991004835993004768
Free China Review
Magazine featuring Taiwan's socio-economic development, as well as its democratization. Also called Taipei Review and Taiwan Review.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1983-2000
Online: 1951-2010
Futurist
Magazine reporting on technological, societal, and public policy trends along with topics related to the future of the human purpose.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1977-2009
Online: 1988-Present
Harper's Magazine (1850-current)
One of the oldest US monthly magazines, featuring literature, politics, culture, finance, and the arts.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1950-2019
Online: 1850-Present
History Today
History magazine featuring articles of traditional narrative history alongside new research and historiography.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1964-2017
Online: 1951-Present
India Today
Most widely circulated English-language news magazine in India.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1988-2004
Online: 2005-Present
L'Express International
French news magazine focusing on French politics and lifestyle. In French.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1980-2007
Limited online availability.
Le Nouvel Observateur
French magazine covering political, business, and economic news, now called L'OBS. In French.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1989-2004
Online: 1979-2002
Life
American general interest magazine known for its photography and social commentary.
more...less...
Behind the stairs on the 2nd Floor: 1936-1972, 1984-2000
Online: 1936-1972, 1996-2000
Mother Jones
American news magazine focusing on progressive politics, the environment, human rights, health, and culture.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1976-2017
Online: 1990-Present
Ms.
American liberal feminist magazine, the first of its kind in the U.S.
more...less...
Behind the stairs on the 2nd Floor: 1973-2010
No online availability.
National Geographic
American magazine known for its photojournalism and focus on science, geography, history, and world culture.
more...less...
Behind the stairs on the 2nd Floor: 1888-2019
Online: 1888-Present
Natural History
Magazine chronicling expeditions and research findings at the American Museum of Natural History and other natural history museums/science centers.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1930-2016
Online: 1918-Present
Newsweek
US news magazine provides news and analysis on US and global events. Also covers politics, business, science, technology, arts, and travel. Published weekly. Online Archive 1933-2012.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1947-2010
Online: 1933-2012
The New Yorker
American magazine featuring journalism, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1936-2017
Online: 2002-Present
Print
U.S. magazine focusing on design in its social, political, and historical context.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1951-2013
No online availability.
Psychology Today
U.S. magazine focusing on psychology and the social sciences.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1967-2008
Online: 1988-Present
Punch
British magazine publishing satirical articles accompanied by topical cartoons that captured life in Britain during the 19th and 20th centuries.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1980-1992
Online: 1841-1992
Ringing World
U.K. magazine for bellringers.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1977-2016
Online: 1911-1970
Russian Life
Magazine celebrating Russian culture, history, and society. Previously known as The USSR and Soviet Life.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1980-2005
Online: 1956-2015
Scientific American
Popular science magazine providing expert insights on important advances in science and technology.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1950-2017
Online: 1845-Present
Sinorama
Taiwanese magazine aiming to be a "window on Taiwan." Now called Taiwan Panorama. In Chinese and English.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1998-2005
Online: 1976-Present
Smithsonian
Official magazine of the U.S. Smithsonian Institutions focusing on museums, art galleries, sciences, and more.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1970-2011
Online: 1990-Present
Sports Illustrated
American magazine providing sports news, expert analysis, highlights, statistics, and scores.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1982-2004
Online: 1954-Present
Time
American news magazine covering current affairs, politics, business, health, science, and entertainment.
more...less...
Behind the stairs on the 2nd Floor: 1930-2017
Online: 1923-Present
U.S. News & World Report
U.S. magazine publishing news, consumer advice, rankings, and analysis.
more...less...
2nd Floor: 1941-2009
Online: 1933-2015