Research Guides: HIST 103: Intro to East Asian Studies: Finding Secondary Sources

Recommended Resources

Historical Abstracts
Find academic articles covering the history of the world from 1400 to the present.
JSTOR
Scholarly, academic journal articles, books, and book chapters.
America: History & Life
Covers the history of the United States from pre-history to present.

Books

Finding Books

Start with Library OneSearch
Find books, articles and more available through K's Library

After doing a search, choose Available Online to see eBooks or On Our Shelves to see physical books
Under the Format field on the left, choose Books

Requesting Physical Books from K

Local faculty, staff, and students may request items through Library OneSearch.

Sign In to your library account
Request this item

We will retrieve the books for you, and you will get an email when you can pick them up at the Library.

Finding books beyond K

MeLCat
- This link opens in a new window
MeLCat is a statewide network of Michigan academic, public, and school libraries that share resources with each other. *Remember to use the barcode on your K ID to request materials from MeLCat.*

WorldCat
Catalog of books and other materials held in libraries around the world. K College users may borrow items they find in WorldCat via Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan
Log in with your K College username and password to place requests and access articles received.

Getting Articles: Step-by-Step Guide

1. Gather citations.

Find citations in books or articles with bibliographies.

All Databases
See all the databases available through the library!

Find an Index or Database in your Subject Area -
Some of these tools are full-text and will lead you to articles, other times you'll just find a citation.

Google Scholar
Find citations to scholarly books and articles. Here's how to link Google Scholar to K's Library.
Link Google Scholar to K's Library
You can access K Library's licensed articles that you find in Google Scholar! In Google Scholar, add Kalamazoo College Library in the "Library Links" settings. Once you set and save your "Library Links" setting, you will be able to link to K's library resources retrieved when using Google Scholar.

2. Search using the "Article Title."

Library OneSearch
Start here--we often have the full-text!
Google
Try with quotes "around your article title"
Always double-check you have the correct source!

3. Search using the journal or magazine title.

Online Journals @ K
Find journals by title. Use the volume, issue and date information to locate your article.

4. No luck? Interlibrary Loan to the rescue!

Interlibrary Loan
Log in with your K College username and password to place requests and access articles received.

Library

HIST 103: Intro to East Asian Studies

Research Help!

Meet with a Librarian!