Skip to Main Content

HIST 217: US Leisure and Recreation

Authority

Scholarly? How do you know?

Scholarly Monographs

As a group, determine if your book is scholarly or not. How can you tell?

Searching Tips

Keywords are Key!

Jot down words that would be helpful to include in a search

Primary Sources

Explore a Primary Source Resource

Browse through the Recommended Resources on the Primary Sources page.
Choose an archive or database.
Search for a topic you are interested and be prepared to report out what you discover about your archive or database.
- Is it easy to navigate?
- Would other students find it useful?
- Did you find anything?

Searching for Secondary Sources

Finding Monographs

Library OneSearch
Find books, articles, and even primary sources.
MeLCat
- This link opens in a new window
MeLCat is a statewide network of Michigan academic, public, and school libraries that share resources with each other. *Remember to use the barcode on your K ID to request materials from MeLCat.*

WorldCat
Catalog of books and other materials held in libraries around the world. K College users may borrow items they find in WorldCat via Interlibrary Loan.

Investigating Databases

Make sure everyone in the group finds:

Scholarly or peer review filter
Subject headings
Citation tool

What do you notice in this database? What might be helpful for other students to know?

America: History & Life
Scholarly journals, magazines, and books covering history of the United States and Canada from pre-history to present. For coverage of the rest of the world see Historical Abstracts.
JSTOR
Scholarly, academic journal articles, books, and book chapters.
ProQuest Central
Multi-disciplinary database with scholarly journals, news sources, magazines, and more!