Research Guides: SEMN 211: Seed Stories and Sovereignty : Primary Sources

Primary Source Searching Tips

Search for broad terms and use date filters to narrow
Use language "of the time"
Be flexible with keywords and spelling
In addition to keyword searching, look for ways to browse the collection through tools & filters

Recommended Primary Source Databases

North American Indian Thought and Culture
Collection of Native American autobiographies, biographies, publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files.
Detailed explanation of this resource.
Indian Claims Insight
History and documents of the Indian Claims Commission. Compiled docket histories with the ability search the full text of content related to each Indian claim. Includes docket books, court documents, cites treaties, related congressional publications, and maps.
Detailed explanation of this resource.
Nation/Tribe and State/Territory Histories provide comprehensive insight into the treaties, claims, testimony and decisions related to states and federally recognized Indian nations.
Docket History view shows the complete legal process for an individual claim including treaties, briefs, exhibits, testimony, decisions and more.
American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971
Primary sources on the interaction between Native Americans and the U.S. government in the 19th and 20th Centuries.
Includes first-hand accounts on westward migration and Indian wars, and materials from the Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
Primary sources covering the American Indian Movement (AIM) and the development of Native American radicalism, from 1968-1979. Includes extensive FBI documentation of the AIM, the 1973 Wounded Knee Stand-off, informant reports, and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law
Expansive archive of Native American treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.

Newspapers

Historical Newspapers
Full-text content from U.S. & international newspapers from the 19th century to the late 20th century. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, cartoons, classifieds, and obituaries.
See title list of over 400 historical newspapers.
NewsBank
International and major US Newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, videos, blogs, and Acceda Noticias (in Spanish).

Magazines

Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Index to popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. Includes Time, Newsweek, US & World News Report, National Geographic, Harpers, The New Yorker, and many more.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (1982-Present)
Index to recent popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada.

ProQuest Congressional
Legislative and executive publications, including the Congressional Record, Congressional Hearings, and more.
Detailed Guide to this resource.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law
Expansive archive of Native American treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.
Indian Claims Insight
History and documents of the Indian Claims Commission. Compiled docket histories with the ability search the full text of content related to each Indian claim. Includes docket books, court documents, cites treaties, related congressional publications, and maps.
Detailed explanation of this resource.
Nation/Tribe and State/Territory Histories provide comprehensive insight into the treaties, claims, testimony and decisions related to states and federally recognized Indian nations.
Docket History view shows the complete legal process for an individual claim including treaties, briefs, exhibits, testimony, decisions and more.
HeinOnline
Law journals and periodicals, case law decisions, government documents, Federal Register, US Code, Congressional documents, Foreign Relations of the US, international treaties and world constitutions, and more.

North American Indian Thought and Culture
Use the Subject filters to limit to "Food Policy" or "Foods"
Detailed explanation of this resource.
Food Studies Online
Primary sources and secondary works covering food and food systems. Archival materials include pamphlets, ephemera, images, and documentaries.
AgEcon - Agricultural & Applied Economics
Scholarly research in agricultural and applied economics. Covers agribusiness, food supply and security, natural resources and energy economics, environmental economics, policy issues, and more. Include journal articles, conference presentations, working papers, government documents, theses and dissertations.
Environmental Issues Online
Multimedia materials - texts, video, audio, archival primary sources - covering environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation, and more.
Explores the relationship between people and the environment through social, cultural, economic, political, historical and ecological perspectives.

Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, periodicals, movies, images, music, websites, and more.
“Books in this collection may be borrowed by logged in patrons for a period of two weeks. You may read the books online in your browser, or download them into Adobe Digital Editions, a free piece of software used for managing loans.”
Some books have long waiting lists (and maybe a single issue to lend)

New York Public Library Digital Collections
Prints, photographs, manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, illustrated books, printed ephemera, streaming video, and more from the New York Public Library Collections.