Research Guides: Library Guide to SIP Research: Interlibrary Loan & MeLCat

Finding Resources Beyond K

Use these links to access resources and request them from other libraries.

Articles

Interlibrary Loan
Log in with your K College username and password to place requests and access articles received.
Google Scholar
Find scholarly citations.
Link Google Scholar to K's Library
You can access K Library's licensed articles that you find in Google Scholar! In Google Scholar, add Kalamazoo College Library in the "Library Links" settings. Once you set and save your "Library Links" setting, you will be able to link to K's library resources retrieved when using Google Scholar.
LibKey Nomad
Browser extension that connects citations on the internet to K's full-text databases

Books

MeLCat
- This link opens in a new window
MeLCat is a statewide network of Michigan academic, public, and school libraries that share resources with each other. *Remember to use the barcode on your K ID to request materials from MeLCat.*
Interlibrary Loan
ILL can also be used to request books from other libraries

WorldCat
Catalog of books and other materials held in libraries around the world. K College users may borrow items they find in WorldCat via Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan

Using Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
Log in with your K College username and password to place requests and access articles received.

You can also request materials through ILL directly in many of the Library's databases.
Instant email notification lets you know when your materials have arrived.
All articles and chapters will be delivered electronically to your ILLiad account.
You may pick up books from the Circulation Desk

Local History Collections

Many institutions with local history collections are within walking distance of K's campus.
Check the institution's website for types of materials available, hours, and access policies before planning a visit.

Zhang Archives at Western Michigan University
Extensive collection of West Michigan local and regional materials, with broader themes and cultural significance.
Kalamazoo Local History Collections at the Kalamazoo Public Library
Local History Collections in the Kalamazoo Public Library, main location.
Kalamazoo Gazette Index
Indexes the Kalamazoo Gazette, from the Kalamazoo Public Library.
Kalamazoo Valley Museum Local History
Kalamazoo Historical Photos
Local History photographs from the Kalamazoo Public Library.

Waldo Library, Western Michigan University

Please contact Western's Library for public access to their resources.

Waldo Library and Stewart Tower by Joe Ross, CC-BY

Western Michigan University Library

You may access Western's online resources when you are in Waldo Library. You must login to one of their computers.

Ask at the Service Desk (to the left as you walk in) for the guest username/password.

Printing is difficult for guests, bring a flashdrive and download articles you want to keep.

WMU Libraries FAQs
Find answers or even chat with a librarian before heading to Western!