Research Guides: Library FAQ: Find Articles

Recommended Multidisiplinary Databases

ProQuest Central
Multi-disciplinary database with scholarly journals, news sources, magazines, and more!
JSTOR
Scholarly, academic journal articles, books, and book chapters.
Project Muse
Scholarly academic journal articles and books in many disciplines.
Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals and popular periodicals.

All Databases
See all the databases available through the library!

Getting Articles: Step-by-Step Guide

1. Gather citations.

Find citations in books or articles with bibliographies.

All Databases
See all the databases available through the library!

Find an Index or Database in your Subject Area -
Some of these tools are full-text and will lead you to articles, other times you'll just find a citation.

Google Scholar
Find citations to scholarly books and articles. Here's how to link Google Scholar to K's Library.
Link Google Scholar to K's Library
You can access K Library's licensed articles that you find in Google Scholar! In Google Scholar, add Kalamazoo College Library in the "Library Links" settings. Once you set and save your "Library Links" setting, you will be able to link to K's library resources retrieved when using Google Scholar.

2. Search using the "Article Title."

Library OneSearch
Start here--we often have the full-text!
Google
Try with quotes "around your article title"
Always double-check you have the correct source!

3. Search using the journal or magazine title.

Online Journals @ K
Find journals by title. Use the volume, issue and date information to locate your article.

4. No luck? Interlibrary Loan to the rescue!

Interlibrary Loan
Log in with your K College username and password to place requests and access articles received.

Sample Article Citation:

Do you have access to the article?

If you can't find the full-text, we can help!

Online Journals @ K
Know what journal you're looking for? Search to see if we have it at K.
Library OneSearch
Find books, articles and more available through K's Library
Interlibrary Loan
Log in with your K College username and password to place requests and access articles received.
Ask a Librarian
Online form to contact the Library.

Interlibrary Loan

Using Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
Log in with your K College username and password to place requests and access articles received.

You can also request materials through ILL directly in many of the Library's databases.
Instant email notification lets you know when your materials have arrived.
All articles and chapters will be delivered electronically to your ILLiad account.
You may pick up books from the Circulation Desk