Research Guides: HIST 391: Revolutions Remembered: Reconstruction 1863-1877

Primary Source Databases

Historical Media Sources

Newspapers

Historical Newspapers

Full-text content from U.S. & international newspapers from the 19th century to the late 20th century. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, cartoons, classifieds, and obituaries.

See title list of over 400 historical newspapers.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Digitized American newspapers, 1789 - 1963. From the Library of Congress.

Magazines

Historical Magazine Collection at K Library
Complete list of magazines highlighted in K Library's historical magazine collection.

Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (1982-Present)
Index to recent popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada.
American Periodicals (1740-1940)
American magazines, newspapers, and journals in digitized page image format, published between 1740 and 1940.

Other Primary Sources

Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, periodicals, movies, images, music, websites, and more.

“Books in this collection may be borrowed by logged in patrons for a period of two weeks. You may read the books online in your browser, or download them into Adobe Digital Editions, a free piece of software used for managing loans.”
Some books have long waiting lists (and maybe a single issue to lend)
Women and Social Movements in the United States since 1600
Primary sources documenting women's movements and women activists in the US, with a focus on the 19th and 20th centuries. Topics include women and antislavery, women's suffrage, the Feminist movement, Equal Rights movement, and women's role in Civil Rights .
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
100,000 pages of diaries, letters, and memoirs written 1861-1865 by persons famous and unknown, providing perspectives Northern and Southern, and from foreign observers.
Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
Features Petitions concerning race and slavery, Southern Plantation records, records on industrial slavery and Civil War and Reconstruction Era records

Ledgers, correspondence, petitions, photographs, diaries, legal documents, and other materials illuminate this large and momentous chapter in history by documenting the far-reaching impact of slavery on plantations, the American South, and the nation. The events in this category include documentation on the Nat Turner rebellion, the Compromise of 1850 and the Fugitive Slave Act, the Secession Crisis of 1860-1861, and Civil War battles such as the Battle of Gettysburg.

National Museum of African American History & Culture Digital Collections
Guide to the museum's digital collections.

Even More Primary Source Links

Guide to Primary Sources at K
Guide created and curated by your librarians at K!
Primary Sources Databases from K
Specialty databases with primary sources in a variety of disciplines.

Library

HIST 391: Revolutions Remembered

Scholarly Sources

Need help?

Primary Source Databases

Historical Media Sources

Magazines

Other Primary Sources

Even More Primary Source Links