Research Guides: HIST 391: Revolutions Remembered: Revolution of 1775-1783

Primary Source Databases

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Digitized American newspapers, 1789 - 1963. From the Library of Congress.

Historical Newspapers

Full-text content from U.S. & international newspapers from the 19th century to the late 20th century. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, cartoons, classifieds, and obituaries.

See title list of over 400 historical newspapers.

Historical Magazine Collection at K Library
Complete list of magazines highlighted in K Library's historical magazine collection.

American Periodicals (1740-1940)
American magazines, newspapers, and journals in digitized page image format, published between 1740 and 1940.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (1982-Present)
Index to recent popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada.
Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)

Index to popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. Includes Time, Newsweek, US & World News Report, National Geographic, Harpers, The New Yorker, and many more.

Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, periodicals, movies, images, music, websites, and more.

“Books in this collection may be borrowed by logged in patrons for a period of two weeks. You may read the books online in your browser, or download them into Adobe Digital Editions, a free piece of software used for managing loans.”
Some books have long waiting lists (and maybe a single issue to lend)
History Vault

Primary sources and documents on 19th and 20th-century American history. Sources include digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and more.

Museum of the American Revolution
This museum in Philadelphia "uncovers and shares compelling stories about the diverse people and complex events that sparked America’s ongoing experiment in liberty, equality, and self-government."

Slavery in America and the World: History Culture & Law
Essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. Includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Women and Social Movements in the United States since 1600
Primary sources documenting women's movements and women activists in the US, with a focus on the 19th and 20th centuries. Topics include women and antislavery, women's suffrage, the Feminist movement, Equal Rights movement, and women's role in Civil Rights .
Revolution and Protest Online
Explores protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present.

Revolutions, protests, resistance and social movements from the 18th century through the 21st century, documented through personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, images, video, and speeches.

Guide to Primary Sources at K
Guide created and curated by your librarians at K!
Primary Sources Databases from K
Specialty databases with primary sources in a variety of disciplines.