Skip to main content

HIST 242: Enlightenment and its Legacies: Finding Journal Articles

Articles: a step-by-step guide

Articles: A Step-by-Step Guide

1.) Look for citations and articles

  • Gather citations with Indexes and Databases
  • Find citations in books and articles with Bibliographies

2.) Locate the journal when you have a citation

  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate article in a Full Text Database

3.)  WestCat - Western Michigan's catalog  (finds the journal at WMU -- you must go there to retrieve it, whether it's print or online)

4.) Interlibrary Loan

Indexes and Databases

Indexes

Indexes lead you to article citations that include author, article title, journal title, volume number, publication date, and page number. Citations do not include the entire article. You must locate the journal once you have a citation.

Historical Abstracts - History of the world from 1450 to present
(excludes the US & Canada, which are covered in America: History & Life)

Humanities Abstracts with Full Text

Social Sciences Abstracts with Full Text

World Political Science Abstracts

 

ARTstor Artwork Image Database | How to Access ARTstor from Off Campus

Art Abstracts with Full Text

MLA International Bibliography Language & Literature

Philosopher's Index

ATLA Religion

 

Full-text resources

 

Full text databases include citation information as well as the text of the article itself.

 

JSTOR
Scholarly academic journals

Academic OneFile
General and Multidisciplinary

Project MUSE
Scholarly academic journals

Proquest Central
Searches all Proquest databases at once. Can limit to scholarly academic journals

Persee

Open access portal ot electronic french periodial publications in the social sciences and humanities.

Gallica
More than one million digitized documents (books, periodicals, manuscripts, maps, images, etc. at the French National Library)

 
 

 

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us

reference@kzoo.edu

Reference desk: 337-7152

Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here

Use our Ask a Librarian form