Skip to main content

Primary Sources at Kalamazoo College: Web Resources: The World

This is a guide to primary sources at Kalamazoo College - what they are and how to find them.

Web resources: The World

OAIster
Search engine for archives of digital resources, many primary sources, including online books and journals, audio files (e.g., wav, mp3), images (e.g., tiff, gif), movies (e.g., mpeg, quicktime), reference texts (e.g., dictionaries, directories), etc..

AHA Archives Wiki: sponsored by the American Historical Association, this site is intended to be a clearinghouse of information about archival print and online collections throughout the world.

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations
http://eudocs.lib.byu.edu/index.php/Main_Page
EuroDocs Creator: Richard Hacken, European Studies Bibliographer, Brigham Young University,
Site includes:

European History Primary Sources
European History Primary Sources (EHPS) is a joint initiative of the Library and the Department of History and Civilization of the European University Institute in Florence, Italy. It is also part of the WWW Virtual Library History Central Catalogue that is hosted at the EUI.

European Reading Room from the Library of Congress
Links to Digital Repositories

Collect Britain from the British Library.
90,000 images and sounds from the British Library.

Compact Memory
A free online archive of full text German-language Jewish periodicals (1806-1938).

Dartmouth Jewish Sound Archive
http://www.dartmouth.edu/~djsa/index.php
The Dartmouth Jewish Sound Archive is a repository of sound recordings for researchers and students. The Archive database includes recordings, some of them rare, dating back as far as 1904, sound files, graphics of record covers and labels, and details of the recordings and their contents.
Please note, this is not a free music download site. If you are not a student at Dartmouth College or at Hebrew College, you will need to register and demonstrate a legitimate scholarly or research purpose. User accounts are good for 6 months and can be renewed if needed.

Jewish News Archive
from JTA - Jewish Telegraphic Agency
"Founded in 1917 to be a voice of and for the Jewish people at a time when news of what was happening to the Jews of Europe and Russia was hard to come by, JTA has been a primary source of English-language Jewish news on everything from Hitler’s rise -- the first JTA report about Hitler was printed on Jan. 30, 1923 -- to the struggle to free Soviet Jewry, the founding of Israel and the long arc of 20th-century American Jewish history."

The Digital Scriptorium
an image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions.

Flickr Commons - List of Participating Institutions
"The key goals of The Commons on Flickr are to firstly show you hidden treasures in the world's public photography archives, and secondly to show how your input and knowledge can help make these collections even richer."

Historic Photo Collections Links to photo collections Worldwide from AcademicInfo
http://www.academicinfo.us/artphotohist.html

Humanities Text Initiative from the University of Michigan (title list)

Internet Library of Early Journals
http://www.bodley.ox.ac.uk/ilej/
A joint project of the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford to digitize substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals.

Pamphlets and Periodicals of the French Revolution of 1848
from The Center for Research Libraries, the University of Chicago Library, and the ARTFL Project

Perseus Digital Library Primary sources from the Classical World, from Tufts University
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/

Les Principaux Quotidiens  - French Newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries

Renascence Editions
Online Repository of Works Printed in English Between the Years 1477 and 1799
These publications are provided for nonprofit purposes only by The University of Oregon.

Texts in Context Primary texts from the British Library

World History Sources  links to primary sources orgainzed by region and time period.
http://chnm.gmu.edu/worldhistorysources/whmfinding.php
from George Mason University

World Digital Library
http://www.wdl.org/en/
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. From UNESCO

United States History

Primary Source Databases subscribed to by the K Library
For off campus to these databases, see Off Campus Access

Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1845)

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000

Harper's Weekly (1857-1889) 

Kalamazoo Gazette Historical Full-text coverage of the weekly and daily versions of the Kalamazoo Gazette, 1837-1922.

New York Times (1851 to 3 years ago)

Salem History Online

Nineteenth and Early Twentieth Century Periodicals Online

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers from the Library of Congress
newspaper pages from 1900 to 1910 from the following states: California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, and Virginia.

Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History (HEARTH)
from Cornell University

The Nineteenth Century in Print from the Library of Congress
This collection presents twenty-three popular periodicals digitized by Cornell University Library and the Preservation Reformatting Division of the Library of Congress.

Northern New York Historical Newspapers provided by the Northern New York Library Network
The online collection currently consists of more than 920,000 pages from 27 newspapers.

Online Serials from John Mark Ockerbloom at the University of Pennsylvania.

Subject Guide