Skip to main content

History 283: Occupiers and Occupied: Useful Websites

Websites


Internet Archive
Created to offer permanent access for researchers and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

Internet Archive : Moving Image Archive
Includes television news broadcasts and historical film clips.

Hathi Trust
A partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved, digitized, and accessible to researchers.

Google News Archive
Search historical news archives back to about 1880. Google automatically creates a time-line with results from each decade. Contents are both free and fee-based, but check our library resources before paying for articles.

History Channel : Speeches
Contains hundreds of speeches that can be searched by speaker, subject or time period.

East Asia History Sourcebook
Housed at Fordham University, this is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented for educational use.

East & Southeast Asia: An Annotated Directory of Internet Resources
Hosted by the University of Redlands, this directory includes internet resources available on East Asia, Southeast Asia, and Asian Americans.

American Occupation of Japan, Voices of the Key Participants
Claremont Colleges Digital Libraries
Cold War International History Project
Includes historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War.
 
 
 
U.S. Government sources
Foreign Relations of the United States
The official documentary record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. From the University of Wisconsin.
Foreign Relations Volumes: 1861 to Date Volumes post-1960 online can be found here.
U.S. Army Center for Military History site on Allied Occupation
The U.S. Army in post-World War II in Japan, 1945-1952
 
United States Strategic Bombing Survey Summary Report
From July 1946
 

The American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project is the only online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913), The Public Papers of the Presidents: Hoover to Bush (1929-1993), The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: Clinton - Obama (1993-2009). The archive also contain thousands of other documents such as party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.

Central Intelligence Agency Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room
This CIA website contains thousands of redacted documents released by the agency through FOIA requests. Documents were created between 1940 and the present.

Reports of General MacArthur
Published by the Department of the Army in four books reproduced exactly as they were printed by General MacArthur's Tokyo headquarters in 1950

U.S. Occupation Assistance: Iraq, Germany, and Japan Compared Prepared by Congressional Research Service in 2006

 

Images

John W. Bennett photo archives, Ohio State University
Doing Photography and Social Research in the Allied Occupation of Japan, 1948-1951: A Personal and Professional Memoir

Library of Congress: Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Includes more than 1.2 million digitized images. The collections focuses mainly on the United States, but does include international images as well.

Life Magazine Photo Archives
Includes photos not published in the magazine.

NYPL Digital Gallery
Access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.

 

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us

reference@kzoo.edu

Reference desk: 337-7152

Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here

Use our Ask a Librarian form