Research Guides: HIST 259: Socialism and Its Implications: Primary Sources

Books containing Primary Sources

Clicking on the book cover tells you more about the book and how to find it (in the library or online)

Library Databases containing Primary Documents

Historical Newspapers
Full-text content from U.S. & international newspapers from the 19th century to the late 20th century. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, cartoons, classifieds, and obituaries.
See title list of over 400 historical newspapers.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003)
London-based newspaper - includes every published issue, from the first in 1842 to the last in 2003. Full-text with high-quality digital imaging.

Digital National Security Archive (1945-Present)
Declassified government documents covering U.S. policy on critical world events, including military, intelligence, diplomatic, and human rights, from 1945 to the present.
Detailed Guide to this resource.
Security Issues Online
National and International security issues, including conflicts, terrorism, and policies that impact the global arena. Provides historical context and resources on key past and present global crises.
Covers terrorism and counter terrorism, insurgency and counterinsurgency, cybersecurity, ethnic conflicts and resolution, nuclear threats, epidemics, biological weapons, and transnational organized crime. Sources include video, personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, and speeches.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers
Complete coverage of the sessional papers of the British House of Commons and the 19th Century House of Lords. Includes over 200,000 papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688.

Women and Social Movements International 1840-present
Conference proceedings, organization reports, publications, and websites of women's non-governmental organizations. Also includes letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century, as well as photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of women’s international social movements.
Detailed Guide to this resource.
Gerritsen Women's History Collection
Books, periodicals, and pamphlets on women's history and the evolution of feminism. Covers four centuries and 15 languages, with publications from the U.S., U.K., Canada, New Zealand, and continental Europe.
Two collections in this database:
The Periodical Series: This segment represents about 25 percent of the material in the database. It comprises 265 titles, including The Suffragist (1913-21) and The Women's Protest Against Woman Suffrage (1912-18).
Monograph Language Series: These 4,471 monographs and pamphlets make up about 75 percent of the collection. Included are 2,336 titles tracing suffragism in the English-speaking world. The collection will soon include 929 German titles that document the history of organized movements in Germany and Switzerland, and 734 French titles that cover women's issues from Gallic times through World War II.
Women and Social Movements Modern Empires Since 1820
Explores world history since 1820 through conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told by women's voices.

Jewish Studies Source
Multidisciplinary view of the study of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Includes academic journals, books, newspapers, and more.
Leading academic journals within the discipline, monographs, related articles from major periodicals and newspapers, and over 1600 biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jews.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
Provides the immigrant experience in the United States and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Collection of personal narratives, letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, oral histories, Ellis Island Oral History interviews, and political cartoons.
Revolution and Protest Online
Explores protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present.
Revolutions, protests, resistance and social movements from the 18th century through the 21st century, documented through personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, images, video, and speeches.
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974
Diaries, letters, video, autobiographies, memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary from and about the Sixties.

Library

HIST 259: Socialism and Its Implications

Interested in a book we don't have?

Online Archives

Books containing Primary Sources

Library Databases containing Primary Documents