Skip to main content

HIST 259-01 Technology and Modern Culture: Websites

HIST 259-01 Technology and Modern Culture

Websites

More at the Primary Sources Guide from your librarians

 

Highly Recommended


World Digital Library from the Library of Congress and UNESCO

Internet Archive
Project that offers permanent access to historical collections in digital format to researchers & the general public.

Internet Archive : Moving Image Archive
Includes television news broadcasts and historical film clips.

Digital Public Library of America 
The DPLA contains metadata records-information describing an item-for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website.

Library of Congress: Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Focuses on the United States, also includes international images. More than 1.2 million digitized images.

 
Recommended
 

Google News Archive
Search historical news archives back to about 1880. Google automatically creates a time-line with results from each decade. Some content is free and and some is fee-based - check our library resources before paying for articles.

Life Magazine Photo Archives
Digitized images including photos and etchings produced and owned by LIFE dating all the way back to the 1750s.

NYPL Digital Gallery
Access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.

World History Sources
from The Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University
Primary sources links orgainzed by region and time period. Prepared by The Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University.

Evaluating web resources

Find an interesting website using Google or another browser? Not sure if you can use it for academic research?
It is not always easy to determine whether information on the World Wide Web is credible. However, the guidelines below will help you understand clues about the reliability of web resources.

Use these points to evaluate the credibility of Websites:

1. Accuracy
How reliable is the information? Are there editors and fact checkers?
2. Authority
What are the author's qualifications? Is the publisher reputable?
3. Objectivity
Is the author trying to sway opinion? Is the information free from bias?
4. Currency
Is the publication date indicated? Is the source up to date?
5. Coverage
Does the site cover the topic comprehensively, or are there information gaps?

 

Sites that provide guidance on evaluating Websites:

For more in-depth information on evaluating websites, see:
Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask
from UC Berkeley - Teaching Library Internet Workshops

About using Wikipedia

Wikipedia is a great tool for a summary of a topic. Wikipedia content is constantly revised, and entries vary in quality. Some of the content is excellent, some is questionable.

Many educators frown on the use of Wikipedia. Why?

  • Wikipedia content is not necessarily written by subject experts, and may be inadequate or incorrect.
  • Articles in Wikipedia may be changed or deleted between viewings.
  • For research papers, you need authoritative resources, so it is absolutely necessary to consult other sources.
  • Anyone can search Google or find a Wikipedia article. To demonstrate academic skill, it is important to go beyond these basic tools.

How can you use Wikipedia in a way that benefits your research process?

  • Scan the article to get general information and terms you can use as keywords for further searching.
  • Scan the article for references. Sometimes these can lead you to excellent books or articles that you can find at the LCC Library or in the Summit catalog.
  • Don't reference Wikipedia articles in your paper, unless you are pointing out something specific to Wikipedia.
  • As you read Wikipedia articles, you may read notations that call for more evidence, or call attention to bias. These are very constructive principles that apply to your own work. What if Wikipedia editors read your work? Would they mark areas for revision?

Ask a Librarian

Have a question?  You can ask the Librarians using this online Reference Question Form!