Skip to main content

Primary Sources at Kalamazoo College: Archives and Repositories

This is a guide to primary sources at Kalamazoo College - what they are and how to find them.

Local Archives and Repositories

Kalamazoo College Archives contains materials relevant to Kalamazoo College history.

Kalamazoo College CACHE is the online repository for Kalamazoo College historical and academic materials. It contains archival materials (student newspapers, alumni magazines, photos) and student SIPs.

Western Michigan University Archives and Regional History Collections includes materials about WMU but also about the history of of the Kalamazoo region.

Kalamazoo Public Library Local History Collection contains historical materials about Kalamazoo.

Portage Public Library Local History a repository of historical information pertaining to the City of Portage and surrounding communities.

Kalamazoo Valley Museum is a participatory museum of history, science and technology linking southwest Michigan to the world through collections, exhibitions, media and programs.

Michigan Historical Center - Archives of Michigan is responsible for preserving the records of Michigan government and other public institutions. The collections also include documents, maps, photographs and film from private individuals and organizations.

Michigan Local Historical Societies
http://www.hsmichigan.org/resources/local-historical-organizations/

Other Repositories

American Association for State and Local History

County & Local Historical Links by State from Dale Stenseth
http://www.stenseth.org/us/locallist.html

Links to State Historical Societies in the United States from Dale Stenseth
http://www.stenseth.org/us/statehs.html

State Archives and Historical Societies from the US National Archives

Directory of State and Territorial Archives and Records Programs

Directory of State Archives and Records Programs from the Council of State Historical Records
http://www.coshrc.org/arc/states.htm

Primary Sources Online from the University of California at Berkeley Library
http://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/c.php?g=4409&p=15610

Repositories of Primary Sources, Worldwide from the University of Idaho
http://www.uidaho.edu/special-collections/Other.Repositories.html

Subject Guide