Skip to main content

SPAN 465: Enlightenment to Restoration: Journals

Using Journal Indexes

MLA Bibliography
The Modern Language Association International Bibliography indexes over 4,000 English language and foreign periodicals, as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations. Subject matter includes critical works on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. There are no abstracts.

Coverage: 1925 - Present.

 

Bibliography of the History of Art - BHA
The Getty Institute provides free access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA). These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.

 

Art Abstracts with Full Text
Subject areas include art history and criticism, fine, decorative, and commercial art, photography, folk art, film and architecture. Indexing and abstracts of over 660 periodicals dating back to 1972. 

 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in over 1,700 arts & humanities journals. Cited reference searching.
Coverage: 1993 - Present

 

Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Published since 1954. Covers over 2,600 journals published throughout the world.

 

Humanities Abstracts
Bibliographic database that covers English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities. Includes detailed abstracts and feature articles are indexed, as are interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, and reviews of plays, operas, ballets, dance, musicals, movies, television and radio.
Coverage: Indexing - 1984 - present; Abstracting - 1994 - present.

 

Essay and General Literature Index
Cites essays contained in anthologies and collections published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Coverage spans the humanities and social sciences, including literary works, art history, drama, and film.
Indexing: 1985 to present.

 

Which index includes the journal I'm looking for?

 Off-Campus Access to Licensed Resources

Finding Journal Articles

Do you have access to a journal?  

1.) Online Journals at K
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate article in a Full Text Database
2.) Library OneSearch (print)
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate print journal
3.) WestCat - Western Michigan's catalog
4.) Interlibrary Loan

Scholarly or Not?

Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines/Newspapers

Scholarly Journals

  • Authors are scholars or researchers in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.
  • Individual issues have little or no advertising.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review process.
  • Articles usually report original scholarly research.
  • Most illustrations are charts, figures, or graphs.
  • Authors use the specialized language or jargon of the discipline.

Popular Magazines (Time, Newsweek, Rolling Stone)

  • Authors are free lance writers or magazine staff members.
  • Authors may mention sources, but rarely cite them in notes or bibliographies.
  • Individual issues contain many advertisements.
  • There is no peer review process. Articles are reviewed by editors or publishers.
  • Illustrations are numerous and colorful.
  • Articles are meant to inform and entertain an educated audience.
  • Language is written for the general adult audience (no specialized jargon).

Scholarly or Not?
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Online
Look for section called "Document Type"
Document Type MUST say "Academic/Scholarly Publication" to be considered scholarly!