Skip to main content

English/SophSem 227: Opium & the Modern World: Primary Source Websites

Primary Source Websites


American Memory Project
Written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music in the Library of Congress collection that document the American experience.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers from the Library of Congress
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Digital Public Library of America 
The DPLA contains metadata records—information describing an item—for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website.

Hathi Trust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Internet Archive
Created to offer permanent access for researchers and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

Internet Archive : Moving Image Archive
Includes television news broadcasts and historical film clips.

Library of Congress: Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Includes more than 1.2 million digitized images. The collections focuses mainly on the United States, but does include international images as well.

Life Magazine Photo Archives

Life Magazine via Google Digitized issues back to 1935.

NYPL Digital Gallery
Access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.



 

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us

reference@kzoo.edu

Reference desk: 337-7152

Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here

Use our Ask a Librarian form