Skip to main content

HIST 217: US Leisure and Recreation: Resources at WMU

Waldo Library, Western Michigan University

  • You may access Western's online resources when you are in Waldo Library.  Username: GUEST Password: GUEST.      Printing is difficult for guests, so it is best to bring a flashdrive and download articles you want to keep.

Historical newspapers available at Waldo Library

WMU: Historical Newspapers
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
The Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849-1987)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997)
Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1987)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
The New York Times (1851-2007) w/ Index (1851-1993)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1993)
The Washington Post (1877-1994)

 

Indexes and Databases

Anthropology Plus (EBSCOhost)
This database offers worldwide indexing of all core periodical and lesser-known journals from the early 19th century to today, providing pervasive indexing of thousands of source.

Berg Fashion Library
Provides integrated text and images of dress and fashion throughout history. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, a large image bank, an e-book collection, and more.

Vogue Archive
A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included. The Vogue Archive is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922
Full text images of articles from early American newspapers for over 700 newspapers from 34 Eastern states, including 21 Michigan newspapers like the Kalamazoo Gazette (1837-1919), Grand Rapids Press (1893-1922), and Jackson Citizen Patriot (1849-1858).

American Periodicals Series
Contains over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children?s and women?s magazines, and more

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us

reference@kzoo.edu

Reference desk: 337-7152

Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here

Use our Ask a Librarian form