Skip to main content

History 397: The Korean War: Useful Websites

Primary Source Websites


Internet Archive
Created to offer permanent access for researchers and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

Internet Archive : Moving Image Archive
Part of the larger Internet Archive, this is a collection of thousands of movies, films, and videos, ranging from classic full-length movies, to television news broadcasts, to historical film clips.

Digital Public Library
A portal to digital collections from libraries, archives, and museums around the country.

History Channel : Speeches
Contains hundreds of speeches that can be searched by speaker, subject or time period.

East Asia History Sourcebook: Korea Since WWII
Housed at Fordham University, this is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented for educational use.

Cold War International History Project
Includes historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War.
Rutgers Oral History Archives
Contains personal narratives of men and women (either New Jersey residents and/or Rutgers University alumni, faculty or staff) who served on the home front and overseas during World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, the Cold War and the nation's most recent conflicts
 
U.S. Government sources
Foreign Relations of the United States
The official documentary record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. From the University of Wisconsin.
Foreign Relations Volumes: 1861 to Date Volumes post-1960 online can be found here.

The American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project is the only online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913), The Public Papers of the Presidents: Hoover to Bush (1929-1993), The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: Clinton - Obama (1993-2009). The archive also contain thousands of other documents such as party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.

Central Intelligence Agency Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room
This CIA website contains thousands of redacted documents released by the agency through FOIA requests. Documents were created between 1940 and the present.

Central Intelligence Agency Freedom of Information Act -- Baptisim by Fire: CIA Analysis of the Korean War
This collection includes more than 1,300 documents consisting of national estimates, intelligence memo, daily updates, and summaries of foreign media concerning developments on the Korean Peninsula during 1947 - 1954. The release of this collection, which coincides with the 60th anniversary of the start of the war, makes available to the public the largest collection of Agency documents released on this issue. The release of these documents is in conjunction with the conference, "New Documents and New Histories: Twenty-First Century Perspectives on the Korean War," co-hosted by the Harry S. Truman Presidential Library and the CIA in Independence, Missouri.

Truman Presidential Library: Korean War File

The Cold War and the Marshall Plan 
Resources suggested by the National Archives

Military Resources: the Korean War
Resources suggested by the National Archives

Veterans History Project (Library of Congress) 
Part of the American Folklife Center, the Veterans History Project collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so future generations may hear directly from them.

 

 

 

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us

reference@kzoo.edu

Reference desk: 337-7152

Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here

Use our Ask a Librarian form