Skip to main content

German 470: Contemporary German Culture: Journal Articles

Journal Indexes

Journal Indexes tell you who published what - and give you citations with the author, article title, journal title, volume number, publication date, and page number.
Indexes do not always give you the full text of articles. 

Is a particular journal covered in a specific Index?

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Online 

 

History and Social Sciences

Historical Abstracts
History of the world from 1450 to present (excluding United States and Canada)

Sociological Abstracts

Social Sciences Citation Index
Current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references.
Cited reference searching.
1,950+ scholarly social sciences journals covering 50+ disciplines. 1993 - Present

Social Sciences Abstracts

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) Political Sciences

PsycINFO Psychology

 

Education

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)

Education Abstracts



Literature and Humanities

MLA International Bibliography
Critical works on literature and languages.
Covers publications from 1923 to the present.

Essay and General Literature Index

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references.
Cited reference searching.
1,150 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals. 1993 - Present

Humanities Abstracts

Full Text Journals

 Full Text Databases

Online Journals at K - Search and Find which journals the K Library subscribes to online!

 

JSTOR 
Full Text of peer reviewed journals in many disciplines. 
What does Kalamazoo College subscribe to in JSTOR?  our JSTOR subscription access
Remember!  JSTOR does not include the most recent issues of most journals. 
Our JSTOR subscription includes some German journals, but not all of the German journals that are in JSTOR.


Project Muse
full text of Johns Hopkins University Press scholarly journals, including the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Proquest 
Fulltext database providing over 2,000 periodicals. Graphics are included for many articles. Users also may select to search peer-reviewed journals only.

OmniFile
Articles in html full text. Database is comprised of records from Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, General Science Abstracts and Business Abstracts.

Academic OneFile

Expanded Academic ASAP

Full Text Databases, only scholarly journals:

JSTOR
Some of the literature titles in JSTOR:

The German Quarterly (1928-2009)
New German Critique (1973-2004)
MLN (1962-2002)
Modern Language Notes
(1886-1961)

Project MUSE
Some of the literature titles in Project MUSE:
Comparative Literature Studies (2000- )
Journal of Modern Literature
(1998-)

MLN (1993- )
MLQ: Modern Language Quarterly (1999- )

Full Text Databases, mix of scholarly and popular sources:

ProQuest Research Library To search *only* scholarly sources, check the box that says "Show articles from peer reviewed publications only."
Academic OneFile
Expanded Academic ASAP
General Reference Center Gold
OmniFile

Finding Journal Articles

Do you have access to a journal?  

1.) Ariadne (print)
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate print journal
2.) Online Journals at K
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate article in a Full Text Database
3.) WestCat- Western Michigan's catalog
4.) Interlibrary Loan

 

Off-Campus Access to Licensed Resources

 

Scholarly or Not?

Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines/Newspapers

Scholarly Journals

  • Authors are scholars or researchers in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.
  • Individual issues have little or no advertising.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review process.
  • Articles usually report original scholarly research.
  • Most illustrations are charts, figures, or graphs.
  • Authors use the specialized language or jargon of the discipline.

Popular Magazines (Time, Newsweek, Rolling Stone)

  • Authors are free lance writers or magazine staff members.
  • Authors may mention sources, but rarely cite them in notes or bibliographies.
  • Individual issues contain many advertisements.
  • There is no peer review process. Articles are reviewed by editors or publishers.
  • Illustrations are numerous and colorful.
  • Articles are meant to inform and entertain an educated audience.
  • Language is written for the general adult audience (no specialized jargon).

Scholarly or Not?
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Online
Look for section called "Document Type"
Document Type MUST say "Academic/Scholarly Publication" to be considered scholarly!