Skip to main content

Classics 390: Junior Seminar: Journal Articles

Use this guide to help you research topics in Classics.

Journal Indexes

 Journal Indexes tell you who published what - and give you citations with the author, article title, journal title, volume number, publication date, and page number.
* Indexes do not always give you the full text of articles.
*

Off-Campus Access to Licensed Resources

 

Classics

L’Année Philologique 
Index for Classical Studies, 1928 - present (No Full Text!) 1,500+ journals indexed

Bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilization and published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique.  Covers subjects pertaining to Greek and Roman civilization including: Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.

L’Année Philologique includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I published in 1928.  Abstracts of journal articles are in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian. Books entries often include tables of contents and book review information

Abbreviations Used in L'Annee Philologique
Comprehensive list of abbreviations for scholarly journals in all subject fields.

For subject searching - subject categories changed with volume 67, produced in 1996

 

Deutsche Archäologische Institut - DAI (German Archaeological Institute)
Bibliographies of the DAI

 

TOCS-IN - Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
Maintained by PMW Matheson (Toronto, Canada) and Jacques Poucet (Louvain, Belgium).
List of Journals Indexed in TOCS-IN
TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, in text format and a Web search program. Searching, browsing, or downloading is available for the tables of contents of about 185 journals of interest to classicists. Where possible, links are given to articles that have full text or an abstract available online (about 15%). 

 

Gnomon Online 
The Eichstätt Information System for Classical Studies
An international database of citations for books, journal articles, conference papers and dissertations on ancient history, classical philology, and archaeology.

 

Indexes in the Arts and the Humanities

 

MLA International Bibliography  4,400+ journals indexed
The Modern Language Association International Bibliography indexes thousands of publications, including articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Subjects included: literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
There are no abstracts.
Coverage: 1926 - Present.

Humanities Abstracts  625+ journals indexed
Bibliographic index that covers English language periodicals in the humanities. Feature articles are indexed, as are interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, and reviews of plays, operas, ballets, dance, musicals, movies, television and radio. Offers detailed abstracts.
Coverage: Indexing - 1984 - present; Abstracting - 1994 - present.

Art Abstracts
Art Abstracts provides abstracting and indexing for 400+ international art publications, in English and foreign-languages, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Covers contemporary art around the world, art history, archaeology, architecture, folk art, graphic arts, advertising, decorative arts, crafts, industrial and interior design, museology, film, video and photography.

Full Text Journals

Open Access Journals in Classics

Bryn Mawr Classical Review freely accessible online

AWOL - Ancient World Online list of Open Access Journals in Ancient Studies

 Full Text Databases

Online Journals at K - Search and Find journals the K Library subscribes to online!

 

JSTOR  includes journals in Classics, Art, and Archaeology.

Some of the Classics journals in JSTOR:

  • American Journal of Archaeology 1897 to 2015
  • The American Journal of Philology 1880-2009
  • Classical Philology 1906-2015
  • The Classical Quarterly 1907-2009
  • The Classical Review 1887-2009
  • Greece & Rome 1931-2009
  • Harvard Studies in Classical Philology 1890-2011
  • Hesperia 1932-2015
  • The Journal of Hellenic Studies 1880-2011
  • The Journal of Roman Studies 1911-2011

Proquest Central
Proquest Central is a fulltext database providing access to thousands of periodicals. You may search the entire database or select specific subject modules (examples include Arts, Women's Studies and Humanities). Users also may select to search peer-reviewed journals only.
Some Classics journals in Proquest:

  • Classical antiquity
  • Classical bulletin
  • Classical quarterly
  • Classical review
  • Greece and Rome
  • Greek, Roman and Byzantine studies
  • Hesperia

Project Muse
Project MUSE offers the full text of Johns Hopkins University Press scholarly journals via the world wide web. Journals from these disciplines are included: the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Some Classics journals in ProjectMUSE:

  • American Journal of Philology (Vol. 117 (1996) through current issue)
  • Arethusa (Vol. 29 (1996) through current issue)
  • Classical World (Vol. 99 (2005) through current issue)
  • Helios (Vol. 34 (2007) through current issue)
  • Hesperia (Vol. 74 (2005); archive only)
  • Transactions of the American Philological Association (Vol. 130 (2000) through current issue)

OmniFile
Contains indexed and abstracted articles in html full text. The database is comprised of records from Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, General Science Abstracts and Business Abstracts.
(Please note that each periodical can begin on a different month and year.)
Coverage: 1994-Present.

Academic OneFile
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text.

Do you have access to a journal?

 

1.) Online Journals at K
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate article in a Full Text Database
2.) Library OneSearch(print)
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate print journal
3.) WestCat - Western Michigan's catalog
4.) Interlibrary Loan

 Off-Campus Access to Licensed Resources

Scholarly or Not?

Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines/Newspapers

Scholarly Journals

  • Authors are scholars or researchers in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.
  • Individual issues have little or no advertising.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review process.
  • Articles usually report original scholarly research.
  • Most illustrations are charts, figures, or graphs.
  • Authors use the specialized language or jargon of the discipline.

Popular Magazines (Time, Newsweek, Rolling Stone)

  • Authors are free lance writers or magazine staff members.
  • Authors may mention sources, but rarely cite them in notes or bibliographies.
  • Individual issues contain many advertisements.
  • There is no peer review process. Articles are reviewed by editors or publishers.
  • Illustrations are numerous and colorful.
  • Articles are meant to inform and entertain an educated audience.
  • Language is written for the general adult audience (no specialized jargon).