Skip to main content

JAPN 242: Contested History: Primary Source Websites

Websites


Internet Archive

Created to offer permanent access for researchers and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

Internet Archive : Moving Image Archive
Includes television news broadcasts and historical film clips.

Library of Congress: Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Includes more than 1.2 million digitized images. The collections focuses mainly on the United States, but does include international images as well.

Life Magazine via Google magazines

Life Magazine Photo Archives

National Library of New Zealand. Papers Past
Papers Past contains digitized pages from New Zealand newspapers and periodicals published between 1839 and 1945. It covers 68 titles from throughout New Zealand.

NYPL Digital Gallery
Access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.

History Channel : Speeches
Contains hundreds of speeches that can be searched by speaker, subject or time period.

Google News Archive
Search historical news archives back to about 1880. Google automatically creates a time-line with results from each decade. Contents are both free and fee-based, but check our library resources before paying for articles.

PBS American Experience: Victory in the Pacific
includes first hand accounts

The Atomic Bomb and the End of World War II:
A Collection of Primary Sources

Truman Library: The Decision to Drop the Atomic Bomb
Includes primary documents, photographs, and oral histories.

Voice of Hibakusha
Eye-witness accounts of the bombing of Hiroshima, from the video HIROSHIMA WITNESS produced by Hiroshima Peace Cultural Center and NHK.

NuclearFiles.org. Smithsonian Controversy
Side-by-side comparisons of the first draft and final draft of the exhibit script, and historical documents relevant to the "Decision to Drop the Bomb."

American Historical Association. Historians Protest New Enola Gay Exhibit

JARDA: Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives
Hosted at University of California

Digital Public Library of America
Gateway to primary source documents


 

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us
reference@kzoo.edu
Reference desk: 337-7152
Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here