Skip to main content

Psych 211, Adolescent Psychology: Resources on the Web

Magazines via Google Books

Web sources

Ad*Access
A collection of images from over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines from 1911 through 1955. Subject areas include: radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene and World War I

adflip - print advertisments from the 1940's to the present
You can look at a decent sized image of most ads. Full access requires subscription.

AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials
AdViews is a digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s.

Calisphere
Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.

Internet Archive Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages

  • Prelinger Archives Over 1,200 "ephemeral" films (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) made from 1927 through the present. "Coronet" is the name of the company that produced many films for schools and young adults.

Magazines on Google Books 90+ full text popular magazines.

Hulu can be a good source for TV shows portraying young adults and families.  Examples are Father Knows Best (1954-1960), The Donna Reed Show (1958-1966),The Cosby Show (1984-1992), My So Called Life (1994-95).

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us
reference@kzoo.edu
Reference desk: 337-7152
Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here