Skip to Main Content

HIST 242: Enlightenment and its Legacies

Starting Places

Finding primary sources takes time!

Be flexible with your search terms
Remember you are trying to find something produced during the time period you are studying
Do a broad search and look for date filters
You can always ask a librarian for help!

Suggested Collections

Recommended Resources

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Extensive collection of primary sources and links to other sites. Excellent starting place for all time periods of European history.
Gallica
French National Library digital collections. *in French
Europeana
Digitized multimedia library of European cultural heritage: books, manuscripts, photos, paintings, maps, audio and film material, newspapers, etc.
Internet History Sourcebooks: The Enlightenment
Links to many other archives and document collections

Child of the Enlightenment
A diary kept by a boy in the 1790s sheds new light on the rise of autobiographical writing in the 19th century and sketches a panoramic view of Europe in the Age of Enlightenment.

Guide to Primary Sources at K
Guide created and curated by your librarians at K!

Image Collections

Artstor
High-quality images of artworks and cultural objects from institutions and museums that have been rights-cleared for education and research.
Detailed Guide to this resource.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.

British Sources

British Periodicals
Hundreds of British periodicals in full text, from the 17th century through the early 21st.

British Pamphlet Collection
~from the University of Missouri Digital Library
London Lives 1690 to 1800: Crime, Poverty and Social Policy in the Metropolis
39 individual Document Types from fourteen archives, and 15 Additional Datasets.
more...less...
By clicking on an individual Archive, you will be taken to a page which lists all the document types included from that archive.