1.) Online Journals at K
- Title search on Title of the Journal to locate article in a Full Text Database
2.) Library OneSearch (print)
- Title search on Title of the Journal to locate print journal
3.) WestCat - Western Michigan's catalog
Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines/Newspapers
- Authors are scholars or researchers in their fields.
- Authors cite their sources in footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.
- Individual issues have little or no advertising.
- Articles must go through a peer-review process.
- Articles usually report original scholarly research.
- Most illustrations are charts, figures, or graphs.
- Authors use the specialized language or jargon of the discipline.
Popular Magazines (Time, Newsweek, Rolling Stone)
- Authors are free lance writers or magazine staff members.
- Authors may mention sources, but rarely cite them in notes or bibliographies.
- Individual issues contain many advertisements.
- There is no peer review process. Articles are reviewed by editors or publishers.
- Illustrations are numerous and colorful.
- Articles are meant to inform and entertain an educated audience.
- Language is written for the general adult audience (no specialized jargon).
Literature Indexes tell you who published what - and give you citations with the author, article title, journal title, volume number, publication date, and page number.
* Indexes do not always give you the full text of articles *
Sociology and Anthropology
GreenFILE Environmental Studies
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text - good for energy issues
BioOne Biology & Ecology - partial full text
General Science Abstracts with Full Text
AGRICOLA free resource from the US National Agricultural Library
PsycArticles 90+ Psychology Journals in Full Text
America: History & Life - United States & Canada from prehistory to present.
Politics & Statistics Sources
EconLit - index to scholarly literature for Economics & Business
Business Abstracts with Full Text - scholarly journals and business publications
Looking for sources on Health?
Please use the Health Studies Indexes & Databases page.
Online Journals at K - Search and Find journals the K Library subscribes to online!
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly sources in full text. Our library subscribes to many journals in JSTOR, but not all journal titles in JSTOR.
Proquest Central is a fulltext database providing access to thousands of periodicals. Search the entire database or select specific subject modules (examples: Arts, Women's Studies and Humanities). You may select to search peer-reviewed journals only.
Project MUSE offers full text of Johns Hopkins University Press scholarly journals from the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
This resource is comprised of records from Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, General Science Abstracts and Business Abstracts. Contains articles in html full text.
(Please note that each periodical can begin on a different month and year.)
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Covers the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Articles in PDF and html full text.