Skip to main content

HIST 242: Enlightenment and its Legacies: Resources at WMU

Waldo Library, Western Michigan University

  • You may access Western's online resources when you are in Waldo Library.  Username: GUEST Password: GUEST.      Printing is difficult for guests, so it is best to bring a flashdrive and download articles you want to keep.

Full text resources

British Periodicals Collection I

Search the full text of 160 British journals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Topics include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. The collection bears witness to The American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Millions of pages in twelve major collections including: Asia and the West; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature; Children's Literature; Europe and Africa; The Corvey Collection European Literature, 1790-1840; Mapping the World; Photography; Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I and II; and Women: Transnational Networks. Includes the British Home Office Papers and Records from 1783-1894; documents and records of the United States 19th century involvement with China, Japan, Korea, and the Philippines; full text of Corvey's archive of 9,500 English, French and German Romantic era texts; British 19th century scores, scripts, playbills; journals and monographs which track the connection between major episodes in the hard and social sciences; photographs from Britain, Europe, Asia, Africa and the Americas on many key areas of research.
 

Nineteenth Century Masterfile
An index to over 8 million articles from popular and scholarly journals published between 1802 and 1906. Based on Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, the Masterfile adds periodicals, books, newspapers, U.S. and U.K. government documents, and U.S. patents not found in the old print index.

Times Digital Archive
213 years of this major international newspaper from London.  PDFs of each article and of the full page. Coverage: 1785-2008